Book AwardsAnthony Burgess: 99 Novels

Book awards by cover

Works (100)

After Many a Summer Dies the Swan by Aldous Huxley1939
At Swim-Two-Birds by Flann O'Brien1939
Finnegans Wake by James Joyce1939
Party Going by Henry Green1939
For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway1940
The Power and the Glory by Graham Greene1940
Strangers and Brothers (Set) by C.P. Snow1940
The Aerodrome by Rex Warner1941
The Horse's Mouth by Joyce Cary1944
The Razor's Edge by W. Somerset Maugham1944
Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh1945
Titus Groan by Mervyn Peake1946
Under the Volcano by Malcolm Lowry1947
The Victim by Saul Bellow1947
Ape and Essence by Aldous Huxley1948
The Heart of the Matter by Graham Greene1948
The Naked and the Dead by Norman Mailer1948
No Highway by Nevil Shute1948
1984 by George Orwell1949
The Body by William Sansom1949
The Heat of the Day by Elizabeth Bowen1949
The Disenchanted by Budd Schulberg1950
Scenes from Provincial Life by William Cooper1950
The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk1951
The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger1951
A Chronicle of Ancient Sunlight by Henry Williamson1951
A Dance to the Music of Time by Anthony Powell1951
The Groves of Academe by Mary McCarthy1952
Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison1952
The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway1952
The Sword of Honour Trilogy by Evelyn Waugh1952
Wise Blood by Flannery O'Connor1952
The Long Goodbye by Raymond Chandler1953
Lucky Jim by Kingsley Amis1954
The Alexandria Quartet by Lawrence Durrell1957
The Assistant by Bernard Malamud1957
The London Novels by Colin MacInnes1957
Room at the Top by John Braine1957
The Bell by Iris Murdoch1958
The Once and Future King by T. H. White1958
Saturday Night and Sunday Morning by Alan Sillitoe1958
Goldfinger by Ian Fleming1959
Snopes: The Hamlet, The Town, The Mansion (Modern Library) by William Faulkner1959
The Balkan Trilogy by Olivia Manning1960
Facial Justice by L. P. Hartley1960
Catch-22 by Joseph Heller1961
The Fox in the Attic by Richard Hughes1961
The Mighty and Their Fall by Ivy Compton-Burnett1961
The Old Men at the Zoo by Angus Wilson1961
Riders in the Chariot by Patrick White1961
Another Country by James Baldwin1962
An Error of Judgement by Pamela Hansford Johnson1962
The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing1962
Island by Aldous Huxley1962
Pale Fire by Vladimir Nabokov1962
The Girls of Slender Means by Muriel Spark1963
The Defense by Vladimir Nabokov1964
Heartland by Wilson Harris1964
Late Call by Angus Wilson1964
A Single Man by Christopher Isherwood1964
The Spire by William Golding1964
The Lockwood Concern by John O'Hara1965
The Mandelbaum Gate by Muriel Spark1965
The Anti-Death League by Kingsley Amis1966
Giles Goat-Boy by John Barth1966
The Last Gentleman: A Novel by Walker Percy1966
The Late Bourgeois World by Nadine Gordimer1966
A Man of the People by Chinua Achebe1966
The Vendor of Sweets by R. K. Narayan1967
Cocksure by Mordecai Richler1968
The Image Men by J. B. Priestley1968
Pavane by Keith Roberts1968
The French Lieutenant's Woman by John Fowles1969
Portnoy's Complaint by Philip Roth1969
Bomber by Leonard Deighton1970
Gravity's Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon1973
Sweet Dreams by Michael Frayn1973
The History Man by Malcolm Bradbury1975
Humboldt's Gift by Saul Bellow1975
The Doctor's Wife by Brian Moore1976
Falstaff by Robert Nye1976
Farewell Companions by James Plunkett1977
How to Save Your Own Life by Erica Jong1977
Staying On by Paul Scott1977
The Coup by John Updike1978
A Bend in the River by V. S. Naipaul1979
Dubin's Lives by Bernard Malamud1979
Sophie's Choice by William Styron1979
The Unlimited Dream Company by J. G. Ballard1979
A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole1980
How Far Can You Go? by David Lodge1980
Life in the West by Brian W. Aldiss1980
Riddley Walker by Russell Hoban1980
Creation by Gore Vidal1981
Darconville's Cat by Alexander Theroux1981
Lanark by Alasdair Gray1981
The Mosquito Coast by Paul Theroux1981
The Rebel Angels by Robertson Davies1982
Ancient Evenings by Norman Mailer1983
99 Novels by Anthony BurgessSource