Book AwardsDavid Pringle's Modern Fantasy: The 100 Best Novels

Book awards by cover

Works (100)

Titus Groan by Mervyn Peake1946
The Book of Ptath by A. E. Van Vogt1947
Darker Than You Think by Jack Williamson1948
The Well of the Unicorn by Fletcher Pratt1948
Seven Days in New Crete by Robert Graves1949
Silverlock by John Myers Myers1949
The Castle of Iron by L. Sprague de Camp1950
Conan the Conqueror by Robert E. Howard1950
The Dying Earth by Jack Vance1950
Gormenghast by Mervyn Peake1950
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis1950
The Sound of His Horn by Sarban1952
Conjure Wife by Fritz Leiber1953
The Sinful Ones [novella] by Fritz Leiber1953
The Broken Sword by Poul Anderson1954
The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien1955
Pincher Martin by William Golding1956
The Shrinking Man by Richard Matheson1956
Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury1957
The Once and Future King by T. H. White1958
The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson1959
Titus Alone by Mervyn Peake1959
The Unpleasant Profession of Jonathan Hoag by Robert A. Heinlein1959
A Fine and Private Place by Peter S. Beagle1960
Three Hearts and Three Lions by Poul Anderson1961
The Girl, the Gold Watch and Everything by John D. MacDonald1962
Glory Road by Robert A. Heinlein1963
Witch World by Andre Norton1963
Stormbringer by Michael Moorcock1965
The Crying of Lot 49 by Thomas Pynchon1966
Day of the Minotaur by Thomas Burnett Swann1966
The Eyes of the Overworld by Jack Vance1966
Gog by Andrew Sinclair1967
The Owl Service by Alan Garner1967
Rosemary's Baby by Ira Levin1967
The Third Policeman by Flann O'Brien1967
Black Easter by James Blish1968
The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle1968
The Swords of Lankhmar by Fritz Leiber1968
A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin1968
A Feast Unknown by Philip José Farmer1969
Fourth Mansions by R. A. Lafferty1969
The Green Man by Kingsley Amis1969
The Phoenix and the Mirror by Avram Davidson1969
Red Moon and Black Mountain by Joy Chant1970
Time and Again by Jack Finney1970
Briefing for a Descent into Hell by Doris Lessing1971
The Day After Judgement by James Blish1971
Grendel by John Gardner1971
Jack of Shadows by Roger Zelazny1971
The Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman by Angela Carter1972
Watership Down by Richard Adams1972
Sweet Dreams by Michael Frayn1973
The Forgotten Beasts of Eld by Patricia A. McKillip1974
The Great Victorian Collection by Brian Moore1975
Grimus by Salman Rushdie1975
Peace by Gene Wolfe1975
‘Salem's Lot by Stephen King1975
The Dragon and the George by Gordon R. Dickson1976
Hotel De Dream by Emma Tennant1976
The Malacia Tapestry by Brian W. Aldiss1976
The Chronicles Of Thomas Covenant The Unbeliever by Stephen Donaldson1977
Fata Morgana by William Kotzwinkle1977
Our Lady of Darkness by Fritz Leiber1977
The Passion of New Eve by Angela Carter1977
The Shining by Stephen King1977
Gloriana by Michael Moorcock1978
Sorcerer's Son by Phyllis Eisenstein1979
The Unlimited Dream Company by J. G. Ballard1979
Ariosto by Chelsa quinn yarbro1980
The Land of Laughs by Jonathan Carroll1980
A Storm of Wings by M. John Harrison1980
The Vampire Tapestry by Suzy McKee Charnas1980
White Light by Rudy Rucker1980
Cities of the Red Night by William S. Burroughs1981
Lanark by Alasdair Gray1981
Little, Big by John Crowley1981
The War Hound and the World's Pain by Michael Moorcock1981
Nifft the Lean by Michael Shea1982
The Anubis Gates by Tim Powers1983
Cold Heaven by Brian Moore1983
Soul Eater by K. W. Jeter1983
Tea with the Black Dragon by R. A. MacAvoy1983
Winter's Tale by Mark Helprin1983
The Businessman by Thomas M. Disch1984
The Digging Leviathan by James P. Blaylock1984
The Glamour by Christopher Priest1984
Mythago Wood by Robert Holdstock1984
Nights at the Circus by Angela Carter1984
Who Made Stevie Crye? by Michael Bishop1984
The Witches of Eastwick by John Updike1984
The Dream Years by Lisa Goldstein1985
Hawksmoor by Peter Ackroyd1985
The Bridge by Iain Banks1986
The Hungry Moon by Ramsey Campbell1986
Replay by Ken Grimwood1986
The Unconquered Country by Geoff Ryman1986
Aegypt by John Crowley1987
The Day of Creation by J. G. Ballard1987
The Fionavar Tapestry 1. The Summer Tree 2. The Wandering Fire 3. The Darkest Road by Guy Gavriel Kay1987