Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: David and Elaine Spitz Prize

Book awards by cover

Works (20)

The Morality of Freedom by Joseph Raz1988
The Philosophy and Politics of Freedom (A Chicago original paperback) by Richard E. Flathman1989
Democracy and Its Critics by Robert A. Dahl1991
Pragmatic Liberalism by Charles W. Anderson1992
Liberal Purposes: Goods, Virtues, and Diversity in the Liberal State by William A. Galston1993
The Inner Ocean: Individualism and Democratic Culture by George Kateb1994
Political Liberalism by John Rawls1995
Between the Norm and the Exception: The Frankfurt School and the Rule of Law by William E. Scheuerman1996
A Civil Tongue: Justice, Dialogue, and the Politics of Pluralism by Mark Kingwell1997
Democracy in Capitalist Times: Ideals, Limits, and Struggles by John Dryzek1998
Civic Virtues: Rights, Citizenship, and Republican Liberalism by Richard Dagger1999
Civic Liberalism: Reflections on Our Democratic Ideals by Thomas A. Spragens2001
Democracy and Association by Mark E. Warren2003
Mill on Democracy: From the Athenian Polis to Representative Government by Nadia Urbinati2004
Desolation and Enlightenment: Political Knowledge After Total War, Totalitarianism, and the Holocaust by Ira Katznelson2005
Politics and Vision: Continuity and Innovation in Western Political Thought by Sheldon S. Wolin2006
Political obligations by George Klosko2007
Frontiers of Justice: Disability, Nationality, Species Membership by Martha C. Nussbaum2008
Political Constitutionalism: A Republican Defence of the Constitutionality of Democracy by Richard Bellamy2009
Civil Passions: Moral Sentiment and Democratic Deliberation by Sharon R. Krause2010

Award description

The David and Elaine Spitz Prize is awarded every year for the best book in liberal and/or democratic theory published two years earlier. Books which are primarily historical (rather than theoretical), together with textbooks and edited books, are ineligible. The award is given by the International Conference for the Study of Political Thought and is sponsored by the International Society of Political Psychology.

No prize was awarded in 1990, 2000, or 2002.


Related events


Bretzky1 (25)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 160,699,581 books! | Top bar: Always visible