This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Evans Biography Award

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 34 ( next | show all )

Works (34)

Brigham Young: American Moses by Leonard J. Arrington1983
Joseph Smith and the Beginnings of Mormonism by Richard L. Bushman1984
Mormon Enigma: Emma Hale Smith by Linda King Newell1984
Phil Sheridan and His Army by Paul Andrew Hutton1985
Paper Medicine Man: John Gregory Bourke and His American West by Joseph C. Porter1986
Trials of Discipleship by James B. Allen1986
Juanita Brooks, Mormon Woman Historian by Levi S. Peterson1987
Joseph Smith III, Pragmatic Prophet by Roger D. Launius1988
River of Traps by William DeBuys1990
Refuge by Terry Tempest Williams1991
Things in Heaven and Earth by Thomas G. Alexander1991
Heart Earth by Ivan Doig1992
Elizabeth Bacon Custer and the Making of a Myth by Shirley A. Leckie1993
Fighting the Odds: The Life of Senator Frank Church by LeRoy Ashby1994
Barry Goldwater by Robert Alan Goldberg1995
Lowell L. Bennion, Teacher, Counselor, Humanitarian by Mary Lythgoe Bradford1995
Wallace Stegner, His Life and Work by Jackson J. Benson1996
Mahonri Young, His Life and Art by Thomas E. Toone1997
From Mission to Madness: LAST SON OF THE MORMON PROPHET by Valeen Tippetts Avery1998
George Q. Cannon, a Biography by Davis Bitton1999
A River Running West: The Life of John Wesley Powell by Donald Worster2000
Sarah Winnemucca (American Indian Lives) by Sally Zanjani2001
One Side By Himself (Western Experience Series) by Ronald O. Barney2002
Scenes from the High Desert: Julian Steward's Life and Theory by Virginia Kerns2003
Don't Let the Sun Step Over You: A White Mountain Apache Family Life, 1860-1975 by Eva Tulene Watt2004
Joseph Smith: Rough Stone Rolling by Richard L. Bushman2005
Recollections of Past Days: The Autobiography of Patience Loader Rozsa Archer (Life Writings Frontier Women) by Sandra Ailey Petree2006
Dave Rust: A Life in the Canyons by Frederick H Swanson2007
Kenneth Milton Chapman: A Life Dedicated to Indian Arts and Artists by Janet Chapman2008
"Liberty to the Downtrodden": Thomas L. Kane, Romantic Reformer by Matthew J. Grow2009, 2010
The Man Who Never Died: The Life, Times, and Legacy of Joe Hill, American Labor Icon by William M. Adler2011
Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis by Timothy Egan2012
A Frontier Life by Todd M. Compton2013
Leonard Arrington and the Writing of Mormon History by Gregory A. Prince2017

Award description

Awarded by the Mountain West Center for Regional Studies, Utah State University
The Evans Biography Award is a $10,000 prize given to the best biography of a person who lived a significant portion of his or her life in the Interior West, or, in the words of the awards' founders, "Mormon Country" - that region historically influenced by Mormon institutions and social practices. The region is roughly an expanded Great Basin and Rocky Mountain region, extending south into Chihuahua and Sonora, Mexico, and north into southern Alberta, Canada.
Evans Biography Award website
First awarded in 1983
1984: two awards listed
1989: no award listed
1991: two awards listed


Related publisher series

Related people/characters


alibrarian (27), bergs47 (16), richjj (16), Katya0133 (16), Shortride (3), ablachly (2), Bretzky1 (2), kirkeet (2), jburlinson (1), davidgn (1), aethercowboy (1), DorsVenabili (1), KingRat (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 138,156,613 books! | Top bar: Always visible