This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Ezra Jack Keats Book Award

Book awards by cover

1–6 of 56 ( next | show all )

Works (56)

The Patchwork Quilt by Valerie FlournoyNew Writer Award, 1986
Jamaica's Find by Juanita HavillNew Writer Award, 1987
Anna's Special Present (Picture Puffins) by Yoriko TsutsuiNew Writer Award, 1989
Tell Me A Story, Mama by Angela JohnsonNew Writer Award, 1991
Tar Beach by Faith RinggoldNew Writer Award, 1993
Taxi! Taxi! by Cari BestNew Writer Award, 1995
Calling the Doves/El canto de las palomas by Juan Felipe HerreraNew Writer Award, 1997
Elizabeti's Doll by Stephanie Stuve-BodeenNew Writer Award, 1999
Dear Juno (Picture Puffins) by Soyung PakNew Writer Award, 2000
Henry Hikes to Fitchburg by D. B. JohnsonNew Writer Award, 2001
Uptown by Bryan CollierNew Illustrator Award, 2001
Freedom Summer by Deborah WilesNew Writer Award, 2002; New Illustrator Award, 2002
Ruby's Wish by Shirin Yim BridgesNew Writer Award, 2003; New Illustrator Award, 2003
Yesterday I Had the Blues by Jeron Ashford FrameNew Writer Award, 2004
My Name is Yoon by Helen RecorvitsNew Illustrator Award, 2004
Going North by Janice N. HarringtonNew Writer Award, 2005
The Night Eater by Ana JuanNew Illustrator Award, 2005
My Best Friend by Mary Ann RodmanNew Writer Award, 2006
Silly Chicken by Rukhsana KhanNew Illustrator Award, 2006
For You Are a Kenyan Child by Kelly CunnaneNew Writer Award, 2007
Mystery Bottle by Kristen BalouchNew Illustrator Award, 2007
Leaves by David Ezra SteinNew Writer Award, 2008
The Apple Pie That Papa Baked by Lauren ThompsonNew Illustrator Award, 2008
Garmann's Summer by Stian HoleNew Writer Award, 2009
Bird by Zetta ElliottNew Illustrator Award, 2009
Most Loved in All the World by Tonya C. HegaminNew Writer Award, 2010
Only a Witch Can Fly by Alison McGheeNew Illustrator Award, 2010
I Know Here by Laurel CrozaNew Writer Award, 2011
Bunny Days by Tao NyeuNew Illustrator Award, 2011
Tia Isa Wants a Car by Meg MedinaNew Writer Award, 2012
Cinnamon Baby by Nicola WinstanleyNew Writer Honor, 2012
Same, Same But Different by Jenny Sue Kostecki-ShawNew Illustrator Award, 2012; New Writer Honor 2012
Lola's Fandango by Anna WitteNew Illustrator Honor, 2012
Not Inside This House! by Kevin LewisNew Illustrator Honor, 2012
And Then It's Spring by Julie FoglianoNew Writer Award, 2013
It Jes' Happened: When Bill Traylor Started to Draw by Don TateNew Writer Honor, 2013
My Heart Will Not Sit Down by Mara RockliffNew Writer Honor, 2013
The Stamp Collector by Jennifer LanthierNew Writer Honor, 2013
Mom, It's My First Day of Kindergarten! by Hyewon YumNew Illustrator Award, 2013
Ganesha's Sweet Tooth by Sanjay PatelNew Illustrator Honor, 2013
Lester's dreadful sweaters by K. G. CampbellNew Illustrator Honor, 2013
Tea Party Rules by Ame DyckmanNew Writer Award, 2014; New Illustrator Honor, 2014
I Love You, Nose! I Love You, Toes! by Linda DavickNew Writer Honor, 2014
Sophie's Squash by Pat Zietlow MillerNew Writer Honor, 2014
Rain! by Linda AshmanNew Illustrator Award, 2014
My Grandpa by Marta AltesNew Illustrator Honor, 2014
Take Me Out to the Yakyu by Aaron MeshonNew Illustrator Honor, 2014
Hana Hashimoto, Sixth Violin by Chieri UegakiNew Writer Award, 2015
A Boy and a Jaguar by Alan RabinowitzNew Writer Honor, 2015
Edda: A Little Valkyrie's First Day of School by Adam AuerbachNew Writer Honor, 2015
Firebird by Misty CopelandNew Writer Honor, 2015
Shh! We Have a Plan by Chris HaughtonNew Illustrator Award, 2015
Grandfather Gandhi by Arun GandhiNew Illustrator Honor, 2015
Little Elliot, Big City by Mike CuratoNew Illustrator Honor, 2015
Poet: The Remarkable Story of George Moses Horton by Don TateNew Writer Award, 2016
Sonya's Chickens by Phoebe WahlNew Illustrator Award, 2016

Award description

Known collectively as the Ezra Jack Keats Book Award, the New Writer Award was established in 1985 and the New Illustrator Award in 2001 to recognize and encourage emerging talent in the field of children’s books. Many past winners have gone on to distinguished careers, creating books beloved by parents, children, librarians and teachers around the world.

The EJK Book Award is given annually to an outstanding new writer and new illustrator by the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation. An Honor Books category was added in 2012. A distinguished selection committee of early childhood education specialists, librarians, illustrators and experts in children’s literature reviews the entries, seeking books that portray the universal qualities of childhood, a strong and supportive family, and the multicultural nature of our world. The EJK Book Award was co-presented by the New York Public Library from 1986 to 2011. Since 2012, the de Grummond Children’s Literature Collection has co-presented the award at the Children’s Book Festival, held in April at the University of Southern Mississippi, in Hattiesburg.

To be eligible, writers and illustrators must have had no more than three books previously published. The prize includes an honorarium of $1,000 for each winner.


Related book awards

Related publisher series


davidgn (91), inge87 (8), SJaneDoe (3), innermurk (3), gilroy (2), picturebookperson (2), dvdwlkn (2), Randalea (2), hipdeep (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 138,198,111 books! | Top bar: Always visible