Book awards: Houshang Pourshariati Iranian Studies Book Award

Book awards by cover

1–4 of 4 ( show all )

Works (4)

Power, Politics and Religion in Timurid Iran by Beatrice Forbes Manz2007
The Ismailis in the Middle Ages: A History of Survival, a Search for Salvation by Shafique N. ViraniHonorable Mention, 2008
Isfahan and its Palaces: Statecraft, Shi'ism and the Architecture of Conviviality in Early Modern Iran by Sussan Babaie2009
Cotton, Climate, and Camels in Early Islamic Iran: A Moment in World History by Richard W. BullietHonorable Mention, 2010

Related tags


  1. Medieval Persia, 1040-1797 by David Morgan (1988)
  2. The Cambridge History of Inner Asia: The Chinggisid Age by Nicola Di Cosmo (2009)
  3. Bazaar and State in Iran: The Politics of the Tehran Marketplace by Arang Keshavarzian (2007)
  4. The Sword of Persia: Nader Shah, from Tribal Warrior to Conquering Tyrant by Michael Axworthy (2006)
  5. A history of Persia by Sir Percy Molesworth Sykes (2006)
  6. A History of Iran: Empire of the Mind by Michael Axworthy (2007)
  7. Tamerlane: Sword of Islam, Conqueror of the World by Justin Marozzi (2004)
  8. TIMUR AND THE PRINCELY VISION, Persian Art and Culture in the Fifteenth Century by Thomas W. Lentz (1989)
  9. Early Mongol Rule in Thirteenth-Century Iran: A Persian Renaissance by George E. Lane (2003)
  10. The Land of Iran by William Bayne Fisher (1968)
  11. The Ayatollah Begs to Differ: The Paradox of Modern Iran by Hooman Majd (2008)
  12. Iran, past and present by Donald Newton Wilber (1967)
  13. Conflict and cooperation : Zoroastrian subalterns and Muslim elites in medieval Iranian society by Jamsheed K. Choksy (1997)
  14. Dominicans, Muslims and Jews in the Medieval Crown of Aragon by Robin Vose (2009)
  15. Shah of Shahs by Ryszard Kapuściński (1983)

Award description

The Houshang Pourshariati Iranian Studies Book Award was established in 2005 to recognize outstanding publishing in Iranian studies. The award was named for Houshang Pourshariati to recognize his long and distinguished career as a journalist and writer. The award is presented by the Middle East Studies Association. It was first given in 2007.


Related places


Bretzky1 (4)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 124,071,045 books! | Top bar: Always visible