This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: IODE Violet Downey Book Award

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 26 ( next | show all )

Works (26)

The Quarter-Pie Window by Marianne Brandis1986
Shadow in Hawthorn Bay by Janet Lunn1987
A Book Dragon by Donn Kushner1988
Tales from Gold Mountain: Stories of the Chinese in the New World by Paul Yee1990
Incredible Jumbo by Barbara Claassen Smucker1991
Redwork by Michael Bedard1991
Waiting for the Whales by Sheryl McFarlane1992
Hero of Lesser Causes by Julie Johnston1993
The Lights Go on Again by Kit Pearson1994
Out of the Blue by Sarah Ellis1995
His Banner Over Me by Jean Little1996
To Dance at the Palais Royale by Janet McNaughton1997
Wings to Fly by Celia Barker Lottridge1998
Janey's Girl by Gayle Friesen1999
Alone at Ninety Foot by Katherine Holubitsky2000
Charlie Wilcox by Sharon E. McKay2001
Mary Ann Alice by Brian Doyle2002
Hana's Suitcase by Karen Levine2003
The Several Lives of Orphan Jack by Sarah Ellis2004
Bobbie Rosenfeld: The Olympian Who Could Do Everything by Anne Dublin2005
The Sower of Tales by Rachna Gilmore2006
Shattered by Eric Walters2007
Eye Of The Crow by Shane Peacock2008
Before Green Gables by Budge Wilson2009
Vanishing Girl by Shane Peacock2010
Crossing to Freedom by Virginia Frances Schwartz2011

Award description

The award is offered annually for the best English language book, containing at least 500 words of text (preferably with Canadian content) in any category, suitable for children aged 13 and under. To be eligible, the book must have been written by a Canadian citizen, and must have been published in Canada during the calendar year immediately preceding the National Chapter annual meeting held in May. Fairy tales, anthologies, and books adapted from another source are not eligible.


Related book awards


bergs47 (44), davidgn (29), ZechariahStover (2), SJaneDoe (2), kirkeet (2), gilroy (1), whybehave2002 (1), wademlee (1), innermurk (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 136,394,713 books! | Top bar: Always visible