Book awards: John Gilmary Shea Prize

Book awards by cover

1–8 of 19 ( next | show all )

Works (19)

Wartime Mission in Spain, 1942-1945 by Carlton Joseph Huntley Hayes1946
The Catholic Church in Detroit, 1701-1888 by George Paré1951
The Reformation in England by Philip Hughes1954
John Carroll of Baltimore: Founder of the American Catholic Hierarchy by Annabelle M. Melville1955
American Catholicism by John Tracy Ellis1956
The Great Crisis in American Catholic History, 1895-1900 by Thomas T. McAvoy1957
Birth Control in America: The Career of Margaret Sanger by David M. Kennedy1970
Salvation at Stake: Christian Martyrdom in Early Modern Europe by Brad S. Gregory2000
The Making of the Magdalen: Preaching and Popular Devotion in the Later Middle Ages. by Katherine Ludwig Jansen2001
The Spiritual Franciscans: From Protest to Persecution in the Century After Saint Francis by David Burr2002
Catholic intellectuals and the challenge of democracy by Jay P. Corrin2003
The War against Catholicism: Liberalism and the Anti-Catholic Imagination in Nineteenth-Century Germany (Social History, Popular Culture, and Politics in Germany) by Michael B. Gross2004
Jazz Age Catholicism: Mystic Modernism in Postwar Paris, 1919-1933 by Stephen Schloesser2005
Six Hundred Years of Reform: Bishops and the French Church, 1190-1789 (McGill-Queen's Studies in the History of Religion, Series Two) by J. Michael Hayden2006
Journey to the East: The Jesuit Mission to China, 1579-1724 by Liam Matthew Brockey2007
Vatican Secret Diplomacy: Joseph P. Hurley and Pope Pius XII by Charles R. Gallagher2008
Sisters and Brothers of the Common Life: The Devotio Moderna and the World of the Later Middle Ages by John Van Engen2009
Rome’s Most Faithful Daughter: The Catholic Church and Independent Poland, 1914–1939 by Neal Pease2010
Enlightened Monks: The German Benedictines, 1740-1803 by Ulrich L. Lehner2011

Related tags


Award description

Awarded by the American Catholic Historical Association
The John Gilmary Shea Prize is given annually to the author of a book, published during a preceding twelve-month period, which is judged by a committee of experts to have made the most original and distinguished contribution to knowledge of the history of the Catholic Church. Any author who is a citizen or permanent resident of the United States or Canada is eligible. The prize consists of $750

The association's website and awards page



jwmccormack (12), alibrarian (6), jannon (2), jburlinson (1), infinitebuffalo (1), davidgn (1), Christa_Josh (1), bergs47 (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 124,196,797 books! | Top bar: Always visible