This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Book awards by cover

1–5 of 5 ( show all )

Works (5)

The Breaking of Northwall by Paul O. Williams1983
The Ends of the Circle by Paul O. Williams1983
The Magicians: A Novel by Lev Grossman2011
A Stranger in Olondria by Sofia Samatarnot in English Common Knowledge2014
The Martian by Andy Weir2016

Award description

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (first awarded in 1973) is an American award given annually to the best new writer whose first professional work of science fiction or fantasy was published within the two previous calendar years. The prize is named in honor of science fiction editor and writer John W. Campbell, whose science fiction writing and role as editor of Analog Science Fiction and Fact made him one of the most influential editors in the early history of science fiction.[2] The award is sponsored by Dell Magazines, which publishes Analog. The nomination and selection process is administered by the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS) represented by the current Worldcon committee, and the award is presented at the Hugo Award ceremony at the Worldcon, although it is not itself a Hugo Award


Related events


Cecrow (3), gilroy (2), andersocheva (2), bergs47 (2), amanda4242 (1), Jim.Shine (1), davidgn (1), SandraArdnas (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 136,443,915 books! | Top bar: Always visible