This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: John W. Campbell Memorial Award

Book awards by cover

1–8 of 51 ( next | show all )

Works (51)

Beyond Apollo by Barry N. Malzberg1973
nueva dimensión - 146 by NDNovel 1973
Malevil by Robert Merle1974
Rendezvous With Rama by Arthur C. Clarke1974
Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said by Philip K. Dick1975
The Year of the Quiet Sun by Wilson Tucker1976
The Alteration by Kingsley Amis1977
Gateway by Frederik Pohl1978
Gloriana by Michael Moorcock1979
On Wings of Song by Thomas M. Disch1980
Timescape by Gregory Benford1981
Pirates of Rosinante by Alexis A. Gilliland1982
Riddley Walker by Russell Hoban1982
Helliconia Spring by Brian W. Aldiss1983
The Citadel of the Autarch by Gene Wolfe1984
The Years of the City by Frederik Pohl1985
The Postman by David Brin1986
A Door Into Ocean by Joan Slonczewski1987
Lincoln's Dreams by Connie Willis1988
Islands in the Net by Bruce Sterling1989
The Child Garden by Geoff Ryman1990
Pacific Edge: Three Californias (Wild Shore Triptych) by Kim Stanley Robinson1991
Buddy Holly Is Alive and Well on Ganymede by Bradley Denton1992
Brother to Dragons by Charles Sheffield1993
Permutation City by Greg Egan1995
The Time Ships by Stephen Baxter1996
Fairyland by Paul J. McAuley1997
Forever Peace (Remembering Tomorrow) by Joe Haldeman1998
Brute Orbits by George Zebrowski1999
A Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge2000
Genesis by Poul Anderson2001
The Chronoliths by Robert Charles Wilson2002
Terraforming Earth by Jack Williamson2002
Probability Space by Nancy Kress2003
Omega by Jack McDevitt2004
Market Forces by Richard K. Morgan2005
Mindscan by Robert J. Sawyer2006
Titan by Ben Bova2007
In War Times by Kathleen Ann Goonan2008
Little Brother by Cory Doctorow2009
Song of Time by Ian R. MacLeod2009
The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi2010
The Dervish House by Ian McDonald2011
The Highest Frontier by Joan Slonczewski2012
The Islanders by Christopher Priest2012
Jack Glass by Adam Roberts2013
Strange Bodies: A Novel by Marcel Theroux2014
The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North2015
Radiomen by Eleanor Lerman2016
Central Station by Lavie Tidhar2017
The Genius Plague by David Walton2018

Related tags

20th century(210) aliens(197) alternate history(200) cyberpunk(299) dystopia(684) ebook(522) fantasy(874) fiction(5,115) goodreads(159) hard sf(157) hardcover(199) Hugo(147) Hugo Award(185) hugo winner(176) Kindle(233) near future(196) Nebula Award(157) novel(998) own(206) paperback(326) post-apocalyptic(450) read(868) San Francisco(153) science fiction(11,341) Science Fiction/Fantasy(156) series(160) sf(2,764) SF Masterworks(177) sff(649) signed(261) space opera(159) speculative fiction(393) technology(207) terrorism(278) Thailand(184) time travel(398) to-read(2,655) unread(449) ya(235) young adult(287)


Award description

The John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the best science-fiction novel of the year is one of the three major annual awards for science fiction. The first Campbell Award was presented at the Illinois Institute of Technology in 1973. Since then the Award has been presented in various parts of the world: at California State University at Fullerton; at St. John's College, Oxford; at the World SF Writers Conference in Dublin; in Stockholm; at the World SF meeting in Dublin again; the University of Kansas; and in a joint event with the SFRA Convention in Kansas City in 2007.

Since 1979, the Campbell Award has been presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas, as the focal point of a weekend of discussions about the writing, illustration, publishing, teaching, and criticism of science fiction.

The Award was created to honor the late editor of Astounding Science Fiction magazine, now named Analog. Campbell, who edited the magazine from 1937 until his death in 1971, is called by many writers and scholars the father of modern science fiction. Writers and critics Harry Harrison and Brian W. Aldiss established the award in Campbell's name as a way of continuing his efforts to encourage writers to produce their best possible work.


Related book awards


andyl (68), gsides78 (46), antqueen (35), davidgn (28), LamontCranston (21), Shortride (20), SilentInAWay (18), zmeischa (18), philosojerk (12), DisassemblyOfReason (11), mentatjack (11), stephmo (10), sdobie (10), geitebukkeskjegg (9), karenb (9), KingRat (9), hipdeep (8), theoldanarchist (6), zanyforever (6), Dirk_P_Broer (6), souloftherose (5), Fuente (5), JonHutchings (5), slothman (5), smcwl (4), amanda4242 (4), PhoenixTerran (4), aethercowboy (4), bergs47 (3), gilroy (3), yue (3), lottpoet (3), ryner (3), paulhurtley (2), HoldenCarver (2), jburlinson (2), amysisson (2), jannis (1), SandraArdnas (1), fyrefly98 (1), nsblumenfeld (1), casaloma (1), norabelle414 (1), Rivendell (1), n_morrell (1), stortemelk (1), eswnr (1), nameless (1), blkrk4000 (1), bpetry (1), benskinner (1), trollsdotter (1), Allama (1), RicketyCat (1), pmwolohan (1), DieFledermaus (1), Stbalbach (1), Katya0133 (1), barney67 (1), gczobel (1), Transitus (1), cedsaas (1), rsterling (1), jmeisen (1), Uyulala (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 128,961,308 books! | Top bar: Always visible