Have you checked out SantaThing, LibraryThing's gift-giving tradition?
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Kirby Award

Book awards by cover


Works (5)

Beowulf by Jerry BinghamBest Graphic Album, 1985
Swamp Thing, Volume 1: Saga of the Swamp Thing by Alan MooreBest Art Team, 1985
Crisis on Infinite Earths (novel) by Marv WolfmanBest Art Team, 1986
The Rocketeer: All 5 Action Chapters! by Dave StevensBest Graphic Album, 1986
Batman: The Dark Knight Returns by Frank MillerBest Graphic Album, Best Art Team, 1987

Award description

The Jack Kirby Award for achievement in comic books was presented from 1985-1987 by Amazing Heroes magazine, and managed by Dave Olbrich. It is named after the pioneering writer and artist Jack Kirby, and voted on by comic-book professionals.
In 1987, a dispute arose when Olbrich and Fantagraphics, publisher of Amazing Heroes, each claimed ownership of the awards. A compromise was reached, and starting in 1988, the Kirby Award was discontinued and two new awards were created: the Eisner Award, managed by Olbrich and named after Will Eisner; and the Fantagraphics-managed Harvey Award, named for Harvey Kurtzman.



Shortride (4), guyalice (4), stephmo (4), mrbudyhed (3), jburlinson (3), karenb (1), alexa_d (1), andyl (1), lampbane (1), scott_beeler (1), I-_-I (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 152,452,342 books! | Top bar: Always visible