This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Otto Gründler Book Prize

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 16 ( next | show all )

Works (16)

The Soul As Virgin Wife: Mechthild of Magdeburg, Marguerite Porete, and Meister Eckhart (Studies in Spirituality and The by Amy M. Hollywood1997
Ale, Beer, and Brewsters in England: Women's Work in a Changing World by Judith M. Bennett1998
Benozzo Gozzoli by Diane Cole Ahl1998
Nuns as Artists: The Visual Culture of a Medieval Convent by Jeffrey F. Hamburger1999
Enter the king : theatre, liturgy, and ritual in the medieval civic triumph by Gordon Kipling2000
Images of the Medieval Peasant by Paul Freedman2001
The Making of the Bibles Moralisees: The Manuscripts (Making of the Bible Moralisees) by John Lowden2002
The Spiritual Franciscans: From Protest to Persecution in the Century After Saint Francis by David Burr2003
Enrico Dandolo and the Rise of Venice by Thomas F. Madden2005
Proving Woman: Female Spirituality and Inquisitional Culture in the Later Middle Ages by Dyan Elliott2006
The Origins of Medieval Architecture: Building in Europe, A.D. 600-900 by Charles McClendon2007
John Hawkwood: An English Mercenary in Fourteenth-Century Italy by William Caferro2008
Wonderful Blood: Theology and Practice in Late Medieval Northern Germany and Beyond by Caroline Walker Bynum2009
Sisters and Brothers of the Common Life: The Devotio Moderna and the World of the Later Middle Ages by John Van Engen2010
Images, Iconoclasm, and the Carolingians by Thomas F. X. Noble2011
The Virgin of Chartres: Making History through Liturgy and the Arts by Margot E. Fassler2012

Award description

The Otto Gründler Book Prize consists of an award of $1,000.00 to the author of a book or monograph in any area of medieval studies that is judged by the selection committee to be an outstanding contribution to its field.

The Prize was instituted by Dr. Diether H. Haenicke, then President of Western Michigan University, to honor Professor Gründler for his distinguished service to the university and his lifelong dedication to the international community of medievalists, and the first award was made in 1997.

Web site: http://www.wmich.edu/medieval/researc...


Related events


jburlinson (14), nathanielcampbell (9), jwmccormack (3), davidgn (1), Bretzky1 (1), bergs47 (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 138,899,876 books! | Top bar: Always visible