Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Rómulo Gallegos

Book awards by cover

Works (19)

The Green House by Mario Vargas Llosa1967
One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez1972
Terra Nostra by Carlos Fuentes1977
Palinuro of Mexico by Fernando del Paso1982
De honden van het paradijs by Abel Posse1987
La casa de las dos palmas by Manuel Mejía Vallejonot in English Common Knowledge1989
La visita en el tiempo by Arturo Uslar Pietri1991
Santo oficio de la memoria by Mempo Giardinelli1993
Tomorrow in the Battle Think on Me by Javier Marías1995
Lovesick by Angeles Mastretta1997
The Savage Detectives by Roberto Bolaño1999
El viaje vertical by Enrique Vila-Matas2001
El desbarrancadero (Spanish Edition) by Fernando Vallejo2003
El vano ayer by Isaac Rosa2005
El tren pasa primero by Elena Poniatowska2007
El país de la canela by William Ospina2009
Target in the Night by Ricardo Piglia2011
Simone by Eduardo Lalonot in English Common Knowledge2013
Tríptico de la infamia by Pablo Montoyanot in English Common Knowledge2015

Award description

The International Novel Prize Rómulo Gallegos was created to perpetuate and honor the work of the eminent novelist and also to stimulate the creational activity of the Hispanic speech writers. The prize was instituted in August of 1964, by # 83 decree, signed by the President of the Republic, Raúl Leoni, then executed by the Education Ministry, which send it to the INCIBA (National Culture and fine arts Institute). The award in metallic, the medal made in golden and one diploma, were only one hundred thousand Bolívares (Bs. 100.000). The first bases were made and released on July 25th 1965 and with summons signed by the president of this entity, José Luis Salcedo Bastardo. The second prize was under the management of the INCIBA with another president, Alfredo Tarre Murzi. The third and fourth prize depended of the CONAC (Consejo Nacional de la Cultura) (National Council of Culture), successor organism of the INCIBA, presided by Luis García Morales and José Luis Alvarenga, respectively. Was in September 17th 1986 when the president Jaime Lusinchi decreed that everything relative to the organization and granting of the prize was transferred to the CELARG (Fundación Centro de Estudios Latinoamericanos Rómulo Gallegos).The prize is celebrate every two years, on August 2nd, coinciding with Rómulo Gallegos's birthday.


Related book awards

Related new series

Related series


zmeischa (77), homeless (26), supersidvicious (22), Bouquin (7), stephmo (5), gsides78 (4), hvg (4), JMK2020 (4), raton-liseur (4), LolaWalser (3), hauptwerk (3), leselotte (3), rsterling (3), Nuxbal (3), aethercowboy (3), Dessassossego (3), Alguien (2), JonHutchings (2), sjmccreary (2), Shortride (2), NinieB (2), chrisharpe (2), 6dts (2), gmg61 (2), Hughie2 (2), KingRat (1), Viridiana (1), amanda4242 (1), auntmarge64 (1), pale_fire (1), bergs47 (1), jburlinson (1), wandering_star (1), StevenTX (1), inblackink (1), nwhyte (1), Ambrosia4 (1), nisto (1), longway (1), Katya0133 (1), verenka (1), jrcovey (1), Smiler69 (1), olgakm (1), casvelyn (1), saucybetty (1), sparhomenko (1), Cecrow (1), frbrown (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 162,362,702 books! | Top bar: Always visible