Big news! LibraryThing is now free to all! Read the blog post and discuss the change on Talk.
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Scotiabank Giller Prize Longlist

Book awards by cover

Works (114)

The Custodian of Paradise by Wayne Johnston2006
Famished Lover by Alan Cumyn2006
The Friends of Meager Fortune by David Adams Richards2006
The Garneau Block by Todd Babiak2006
Governor of the Northern Province by Randy Boyagoda2006
The Hour of Bad Decisions by Russell Wangersky2006
Inside by Kenneth J. Harvey2006
JPod by Douglas Coupland2006
Pleased to Meet You by Caroline Adderson2006
Stolen by Annette LaPointe2006
Architects Are Here by Michael Winter2007
The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill2007
Conceit by Mary Novik2007
Helpless by Barbara Gowdy2007
Lauchlin of the Bad Heart by D. R. MacDonald2007
October by Richard B. Wright2007
The Reckoning of Boston Jim by Claire Mulligan2007
Soucouyant by David Chariandy2007
Stormy Weather by Paulette Jiles2007
Zero Gravity by Sharon English2007
Blackstrap Hawco by Kenneth J. Harvey2008
The Cellist of Sarajevo by Steven Galloway2008
The Lost Highway by David Adams Richards2008
More: A Novel by Austin Clarke2008
The Origin of Species by Nino Ricci2008
The Ravine by Paul Quarrington2008
Red Dog, Red Dog by Patrick Lane2008
The Retreat by David Bergen2008
The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue2008
The Withdrawal Method: Stories by Pasha Malla2008
The Color of Lightning by Paulette Jiles2009
The Factory Voice by Jeanette Lynes2009
The Heart Specialist by Claire Holden Rothman2009
The Incident Report by Martha Baillie2009
The Mistress of Nothing by Kate Pullinger2009
Valmiki's Daughter by Shani Mootoo2009
The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood2009
Cities of Refuge by Michael Helm2010
Curiosity by Joan Thomas2010
The Debba by Avner Mandelman2010
The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman2010
Lemon by Cordelia Strube2010
The Matter with Morris by David Bergennot in English Common Knowledge2010
Player One: What Is to Become of Us (CBC Massey Lecture) by Douglas Coupland2010
A Reckless Moon by Dianne Warren2010
Sanctuary Line by Jane Urquhart2010
The Beggar's Garden by Michael Christie2011
Extensions (Nunatak First Fiction) by Myrna DeyReader's Choice Award, 2011
A Good Man by Guy Vanderhaeghe2011
Into the Heart of the Country by Pauline Holdstock2011
The Little Shadows by Marina Endicott2011
The Meagre Tarmac by Clark Blaise2011
Monoceros by Suzette Mayr2011
The Return by Dany Laferrière2011
Solitaria (Signature Editions) by Genni Gunn2011
Touch by Alexi Zentner2011
A World Elsewhere by Wayne Johnston2011
Dr. Brinkley's Tower by Robert Hough2012
The Emperor of Paris by CS Richardson2012
Everybody Has Everything by Katrina Onstad2012
My Life Among the Apes by Cary Fagan2012
One Good Hustle by Billie Livingston2012
Our Daily Bread by Lauren B. Davis2012
The Sweet Girl by Annabel Lyon2012
Y by Marjorie Celona2012
Emancipation Day by Wayne Grady2013
Extraordinary by David Gilmour2013
How to Get Along with Women by Elisabeth de Mariaffi2013
Minister Without Portfolio by Michael Winter2013
October 1970 by Louis Hamelin2013
The Orenda by Joseph Boyden2013
The Son of a Certain Woman by Wayne Johnston2013
The Woman Upstairs by Claire Messud2013
American Innovations: Stories by Rivka Galchen2014
The Betrayers by Donald Hamilton2014
Moving Forward Sideways Like a Crab by Shani Mootoo2014
My October by Claire Holden Rothman2014
Paradise and Elsewhere by Kathy Page2014
Stone Mattress: Nine Tales by Margaret Atwood2014
Waiting for the Man: Biography and Critical Study of Lou Reed by Jeremy Reed2014
Watch How We Walk by Jennifer LoveGrove2014
All True Not a Lie in It: A Novel by Alix Hawley2015
A Beauty by Connie Gault2015
Close to Hugh by Marina Endicott2015
Confidence: Stories by Russell Smith2015
If I Fall, If I Die by Michael Christie2015
Undermajordomo Minor by Patrick deWitt2015
The Winter Family: A Novel by Clifford Jackman2015
By Gaslight by Steven Price2016
Death Valley by Susan Perly2016
Pillow by Andrew Battershill2016
Stranger: A Novel by David Bergen2016
The Two of Us by Kathy Page2016
Willem De Kooning's Paintbrush by Kerry-Lee Powell2016
The Bone Mother by David Demchuk2017
Boundary: The Last Summer by Andree Michaud2017
Brother by David Chariandy2017
The Dark and Other Love Stories by Deborah Willis2017
Next Year, for Sure: A Novel by Zoey Leigh Peterson2017
Tumbleweed by Josip Novakovich2017
We'll All Be Burnt in Our Beds Some Night: A Novel by Joel Thomas Hynes2017
Beirut Hellfire Society by Rawi Hage2018
Jonny Appleseed by Joshua Whitehead2018
Our Homesick Songs by Emma Hooper2018
Something for Everyone by Lisa Moore2018
Split Tooth by Tanya Tagaq2018
Vi by Kim Thúy2018
Zolitude by Paige Cooper2018
Days by Moonlight by André Alexis2019
Dream Sequence: A Novel by Adam Foulds2019
Frying Plantain by Zalika Reid-Benta2019
Greenwood by Michael Christie2019
Late Breaking by K. D. Miller2019
The Testaments by Margaret Atwood2019

Award description

for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. An award that goes to the author of a Canadian novel or short story fiction collection published in English (including translation) deemed by a jury to be the best published in the previous year.

This prize was established as the Giller Prize in 1994 by Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife Doris Giller, a former literary editor at the Toronto Star. The prize is awarded in November of each year, along with a cash reward (then CAN$25,000).

On September 22, 2005, the Giller Prize established an endorsement deal with Scotiabank, a major Canadian bank. The total prize package for the award was increased to $50,000, with $40,000 presented to the winning author and $2,500 each for the other four shortlisted nominees. The award's official name was also changed at that time to the Scotiabank Giller Prize.

In 2006, the prize instituted a longlist for the first time, comprising no fewer than 10 and no more than 15 titles. In 2008, the prize fund was increased to $50,000 for the winning author and $5,000 for each of the authors on the shortlist


Related book awards

Related places


bergs47 (234), zmeischa (87), JonHutchings (65), vancouverdeb (59), norabelle414 (38), timspalding (12), davidgn (9), ShelfMonkey (8), lottpoet (7), gilroy (7), karenb (7), starfishian (5), souloftherose (5), hipdeep (4), apodispub (3), sduff222 (3), JMK2020 (3), kirkeet (3), st_bruno (2), lorannen (2), kidzdoc (2), andyl (2), Stbalbach (2), benitastrnad (2), SJaneDoe (2), homeless (2), rsterling (2), zhejw (2), Nickelini (2), sturlington (1), amanda4242 (1), macart3 (1), connie53 (1), Shortride (1), PuddinTame (1), unaluna (1), Agrammatos (1), Conkie (1), Trifolia (1), stevenmg (1), Bretzky1 (1), Nuxbal (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 149,260,433 books! | Top bar: Always visible