Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Scotiabank Giller Prize Winner

Book awards by cover

Works (29)

The Book of Secrets by M. G. Vassanji1994
A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry1995
Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood1996
Barney's Version by Mordecai Richler1997
The Love of a Good Woman by Alice Munro1998
A Good House by Bonnie Burnard1999
Anil’s Ghost by Michael OndaatjeJoint, 2000
Mercy Among the Children by David Adams RichardsJoint, 2000
Clara Callan by Richard B. Wright2001
The Polished Hoe by Austin Clarke2002
The In-Between World of Vikram Lall by M. G. Vassanji2003
Runaway by Alice Munro2004
The Time in Between by David Bergen2005
Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam2006
Late Nights on Air by Elizabeth Hay2007
Through Black Spruce by Joseph Boyden2008
The Bishop's Man by Linden MacIntyre2009
The Sentimentalists by Johanna Skibsrud2010
Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan2011
419 by Will Ferguson2012
Hellgoing: Stories by Lynn Coady2013
Us Conductors by Sean Michaels2014
Fifteen Dogs: An Apologue by André Alexis2015
Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien2016
Bellevue Square by Michael Redhill2017
Washington Black by Esi Edugyan2018
Reproduction by Ian Williams2019
How to Pronounce Knife: Stories by Souvankham Thammavongsa2020
What Strange Paradise by Omar El Akkad2021

Award description

The Scotiabank Giller Prize is an award that goes to the author of a Canadian novel or short story fiction collection published in English (including translation) deemed by a jury to be the best published in the previous year.

This prize was established as the Giller Prize in 1994 by Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife Doris Giller, a former literary editor at the Toronto Star. The prize is awarded in November of each year, along with a cash reward (then CAN$25,000).

On September 22, 2005, the Giller Prize established an endorsement deal with Scotiabank, a major Canadian bank. The total prize package for the award was increased to $50,000, with $40,000 presented to the winning author and $2,500 each for the other four shortlisted nominees. The award's official name was also changed at that time to the Scotiabank Giller Prize.

In 2006, the prize instituted a longlist for the first time, comprising no fewer than 10 and no more than 15 titles. In 2008, the prize fund was increased to $50,000 for the winning author and $5,000 for each of the authors on the shortlist.


Related book awards

Related new series


zmeischa (70), bergs47 (69), norabelle414 (20), JonHutchings (15), ablachly (13), JMK2020 (11), vancouverdeb (8), gilroy (5), Jordaan (5), lottpoet (5), homeless (5), Carmen.et.Error (3), souloftherose (3), pamtreece (3), Cecrow (3), aron124 (2), davidgn (2), Stbalbach (2), SimoneA (2), kidzdoc (2), sjmccreary (2), TheoClarke (2), elkiedee (1), Shortride (1), peterbrown (1), zhejw (1), hipdeep (1), auntmarge64 (1), AbigailAdams26 (1), ShelfMonkey (1), timspalding (1), Nikopol (1), Smiler69 (1), Conkie (1), avatiakh (1), pinklady60 (1), NinieB (1), raidergirl3 (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 166,257,348 books! | Top bar: Always visible