This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 16 ( next | show all )

Works (16)

Long Shadows: Truth, Lies and History by Erna Paris2000
In the Name of the Father: An Essay on Quebec Nationalism by Daniel Poliquin2001
Fights of Our Lives: Elections, Leadership and the Making of Canada by John Duffy2002
Shake Hands with the Devil: The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda by Roméo Dallaire2003
Dark Age Ahead by Jane Jacobs2004
The Drug Trial: Nancy Olivieri and the Science Scandal that Rocked the Hospital for Sick Children by Miriam Shuchman2005
Young Trudeau: 1919-1944: Son of Quebec, Father of Canada by Max Nemni2006
Unexpected War: Canada in Kandahar by Janice Gross Stein2007
An Imperfect Offering: Humanitarian Action in the Twenty-first Century by James Orbinski2008
Just Watch Me: The Life of Pierre Elliott Trudeau: 1968-2000 by John English2009
The Ghosts of Europe: Central Europe's Past and Uncertain Future by Anna Porter2010
Nation Maker: Sir John A. Macdonald: His Life, Our Times by Richard J. Gwyn2011
Walls: Travels Along the Barricades by Marcello Di Cintio2012
The Longer I'm Prime Minister by Paul Wells2013
Enlightenment 2.0 by Joseph Heath2014
Stephen Harper by John Ibbitson2015

Award description

The prize is awarded annually to a non-fiction book that captures a political subject of interest to Canadian readers and enhances our understanding of the issue. The winning work combines compelling new insights with depth of research and is of significant literary merit. Strong consideration is given to books that, in the opinion of the jury, have the potential to shape or influence Canadian political life. The winner of the prize recieves $25,000 while finalists each recieve $2,500. The Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing was established in honour of the outspoken and popular Member of Parliament from Windsor, Ontario, who died on December 9, 1998.



bergs47 (33), zmeischa (6), NinieB (2), JonHutchings (2), unaluna (2), Bretzky1 (1), casaloma (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 138,009,883 books! | Top bar: Always visible