Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Sunburst Award

Book awards by cover

Works (29)

Galveston by Sean Stewart2001
When Alice Lay down with Peter: A Novel by Margaret Sweatman2002
Skin Folk by Nalo Hopkinson2003
A Place So Foreign and Eight More by Cory Doctorow2004
Air: Or, Have Not Have by Geoff Ryman2005
In The Palace Of Repose by Holly Phillips2006
Fabrizio's Return by Mark Frutkin2007
Anthem of a Reluctant Prophet by Joanne ProulxYoung Adult, 2008
The New Moon's Arms by Nalo HopkinsonAdult, 2008
The Gargoyle by Andrew DavidsonAdult, 2009
Little Brother by Cory DoctorowYoung Adult, 2009
Half World by Hiromi GotoYoung Adult, 2010
Indigo Springs by A.M. DellamonicaAdult, 2010
Bookweirder by Paul GlennonYoung Adult, 2011
Under Heaven by Guy Gavriel KayAdult, 2011
All Good Children by Catherine AustenYoung Adult, 2012
Paradise Tales: and Other Stories by Geoff RymanAdult, 2012
Maleficium by Martine DesjardinsAdult, 2013
Seraphina by Rachel HartmanYoung Adult, 2013
The Cats of Tanglewood Forest by Charles de LintYoung Adult, 2014
A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth OzekiAdult, 2014
The Back Of The Turtle by Thomas KingAdult, 2015
Tin Star by Cecil CastellucciYoung Adult, 2015
Experimental Film by Gemma FilesAdult, 2016
An Inheritance of Ashes by Leah BobetYoung Adult, 2016
Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard by Jonathan AuxierYoung Adult, 2017
Spells of Blood and Kin: A Dark Fantasy by Claire HumphreyAdult, 2017
The Bone Mother by David DemchukAdult, 2018
The Marrow Thieves by Cherie DimalineYoung Adult, 2018

Award description

The Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a juried award based on excellence of writing in two categories: adult and young adult. The awards are presented annually to Canadian writers with a speculative fiction novel or book-length collection of speculative fiction published any time during the previous calendar year. Named after the first novel by Phyllis Gotlieb, one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian science fiction, the awards consist of a cash award of Cdn$1,000 and a medallion which incorporates a specially designed "Sunburst" logo. The winners receive their awards in the fall of every year. See also the nominees


Related book awards

Related events


davidgn (46), andyl (23), bergs47 (18), zmeischa (7), hipdeep (7), JonHutchings (4), mentatjack (4), karenb (4), ShelfMonkey (4), norabelle414 (3), lottpoet (3), KingRat (3), stephmo (3), amanda4242 (3), Shortride (3), amysisson (2), kirkeet (2), Carmen.et.Error (2), ablachly (2), slothman (2), macart3 (2), SilentInAWay (2), gilroy (1), librorumamans (1), inge87 (1), n_morrell (1), foggidawn (1), casaloma (1), GwynethM (1), TheCrow2 (1), PhoenixTerran (1), DisassemblyOfReason (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 170,292,396 books! | Top bar: Always visible