This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Sunday Times Fiction Prize Short List

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 49 ( next | show all )

Works (49)

Welcome to Our Hillbrow by Phaswane Mpe2002
The Dreamcloth by Joanne Fedler2006
Garden of the Plagues by Russel Brownlee2006
The Good Cemetery Guide by Consuelo Roland2006
Praying Mantis by André Brink2006
Slow Man by J. M. Coetzee2006
Il complesso di Mandela by Lewis Nkosi2007
Green-Eyed Thieves by Imraan Coovadia2007
My Mother's Lovers by Christopher Hope2007
The Native Commissioner by Shaun Johnson2007
After Tears by Niq Mhlongo2008
Diary of a Bad Year by J. M. Coetzee2008
The Fence by Andrew Gray2008
The Song Before It is Sung by Justin Cartwright2008
Bodies Politic: A Novel by Michiel Heyns2009
The Impostor by Damon Galgut2009
Lost Colours of the Chameleon by Mandla Langa2009
The Book of the Dead by Kgebetli Moele2010
Saracen at the Gates by Zinaid Meeran2010
Small moving parts by Sally-Ann Murray2010
Summertime: Scenes from Provincial Life by J. M. Coetzee2010
Deeper Than Colour by James Clelland2011
Double Negative by Ivan Vladislavić2011
Not a Fairytale by Shaida Kazie Ali2011
Thirteen Hours by Deon Meyer2011
Eddie Signwriter: A Novel by Adam Schwartzman2012
The Lazarus effect by H. J. Golakai2012
Nineveh by Henrietta Rose-Innes2012
The Book of War by James Whyle2013
Institute for Taxi Poetry by Imraan Coovadia2013
False River by Dominique Botha2014
The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes2014
Wolf, Wolf: A Novel by Eben Venter2014
October: A Novel by Zoë Wicomb2015
The Savage Hour by Elaine Proctor2015
Tales of the metric system: a novel by Imraan Coovadia2015
Boy on the Wire by Alastair Bruce2016
The Dream House by Craig Higginson2016
Green Lion by Henrietta Rose-Innes2016
The Magistrate of Gower by Claire Robertson2016
Evening Primrose by Kopano Matlwa2017
The Safest Place You Know by Mark Winkler2017
The Woman Next Door by Yewande Omotoso2017
Bird-Monk Seding by Lesego Rampolokeng2018
Die derde spoel by S.J. Naude2018
Kamphoer (Afrikaans Edition) by Francois Smith2018
Softness of the Lime by Maxine Case2018
The Boy Who Could Keep a Swan in His Head by John Hunt2019
Under Glass by Claire Robertson2019

Award description

The prize criteria stipulate that the winner should be “a novel of rare imagination and style, evocative, textured and a tale so compelling as to become an enduring landmark of contemporary fiction”. The prize is open to works in English, including those that have been translated. This year the prize money has been increased from R75 000 to R100 000.


Related book awards


bergs47 (121), zmeischa (14), norabelle414 (4), lottpoet (3), bugaderes39 (2), macart3 (2), andyl (1), JonHutchings (1), Apacha (1), sturlington (1), aeclark (1), kaffles (1), sorchah (1), ablachly (1), AnnieMod (1), zwelbast (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 136,465,902 books! | Top bar: Always visible