This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: TD Canadian Children's Literature Award

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 16 ( next | show all )

Works (16)

Mable Riley: A Reliable Record of Humdrum, Peril, and Romance by Marthe Jocelyn2005
The Crazy Man by Pamela Porter2006
I Found a Dead Bird: The Kids' Guide to the Cycle of Life and Death by Jan ThornhillHonour Book, 2007
Johnny Kellock Died Today by Hadley DyerHonour Book, 2007
Odd Man Out by Sarah Ellis2007
Rex Zero and the End of the World by Tim Wynne-JonesHonour Book, 2007
Stanley's Wild Ride by Linda BaileyHonour Book, 2007
Elijah Of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis2008
Shin-chi's Canoe by Nicola I. Campbell2009
The Hunchback Assignments by Arthur Slade2010
Plain Kate by Erin Bow2011
Stones for My Father by Trilby Kent2012
One Year in Coal Harbor by Polly Horvath2013
The Man With the Violin by Kathy Stinson2014
Missing Nimama by Melanie Florence2016
The Tragic Tale of the Great Auk by Jan Thornhill2017

Award description

[See also: Prix TD de littérature canadienne pour l’enfance et la jeunesse]

On October 28, 2004 the Canadian Children’s Book Centre and the TD Bank Group announced the establishment of a brand-new annual, children’s book award, the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award for the most distinguished book of the year. “Distinguished” is defined as marked by conspicuous excellence and/or eminence, individually distinct and noted for significant achievement with excellence in quality.

All books, in any genre, written by a Canadian and for children ages 1 through 12 are eligible. In the case of a picture book, both the author and the illustrator must be Canadian. Only books first published in Canada are eligible for submission.

The grand prize is $30,000 for the most distinguished book written in English and $30,000 for the most distinguished book written in French. In addition, there is a total of $20,000 awarded for honour book winners with a maximum of four books being eligible for the honour list in each language category. (For example, there could be one grand prize winner and one honour book winner in the English-language category with the honour book winner receiving $10,000 or there could be two honour book winners who would each receive a prize of $5,000 and so on up to four honour book winners dividing the $10,000.) This would be the same for the French-language winners. Honour books must also be truly distinguished. $2,500 shall go to the publisher of the grand prize-winning book for promotion and publicity purposes.

There will be five judges for the English-language award and five for the French-language award. In finding the two most distinguished books of the year, the judges will, in their deliberations, consider only the individual book and not the entire body of work by an author nor whether the author has previously won the award.


Related book awards


davidgn (47), casaloma (12), islandisee (6), bergs47 (4), kirkeet (3), zmeischa (2), paeonia (2), innermurk (2), stephmo (2), avatiakh (2), gilroy (1), PhoenixTerran (1), hipdeep (1), SJaneDoe (1), foggidawn (1), lottpoet (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 136,398,094 books! | Top bar: Always visible