This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: The Essential Man's Library: 50 Fictional Adventure Books

Book awards by cover

1–8 of 49 ( next | show all )

Works (49)

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
The Adventures of Captain Hatteras by Jules Verne
Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
Ayesha: The Return of She by H. Rider Haggard
The Beach by Alex Garland
The Call of the Wild by Jack London
Captain Blood by Rafael Sabatini
Captains Courageous by Rudyard Kipling
The Children of Captain Grant by Jules Verne
Congo by Michael Crichton
The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas père
Hatchet by Gary Paulsen
Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien
Inca Gold by Clive Cussler
Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne
The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling
Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton
Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson
King Solomon's Mines by H. Rider Haggard
The Lighthouse at the End of the World by Jules Verne
Lord of the Flies by William Golding
The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien
The Lost World by Arthur Conan Doyle
The Lost World by Michael Crichton
The Man Who Would Be King [short story] by Rudyard Kipling
Moby Dick by Herman Melville
Le Morte d'Arthur by Sir Thomas Malory
The Mysterious Island by Jules Verne
The Odyssey by Homernot in English Common Knowledge
The People of the Mist by H. Rider Haggard
Peter Pan by James Matthew Barrie
The Pirates of Malaysia by Emilio Salgari
The Prisoner of Zenda by Anthony Hope
Roughing It by Mark Twain
Sahara by Clive Cussler
Sandokan: The Tigers of Mompracem by Emilio Salgari
The Sea Wolf by Jack London
She by H. Rider Haggard
The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien
Southern Mail/Night Flight by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
The Swiss Family Robinson by Johann David Wyss
Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs
The Thirty-Nine Steps by John Buchan
The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
Treasure by Clive Cussler
Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
True at First Light: A Fictional Memoir by Ernest Hemingway
The Two Tigers by Emilio Salgari

Award description

This is a list compiled in 2009 by the website artofmanliness.com of the fifty best adventure books of all time.


Related book awards

Related publisher series

Related places


zmeischa (261), homeless (186), JonHutchings (92), davidgn (58), cedsaas (54), Bouquin (41), sjmccreary (37), NinieB (30), jefbra (28), pale_fire (20), olgakm (18), casvelyn (16), jasbro (15), auntmarge64 (14), Daneri (12), BlancaFer (11), innermurk (11), infiniteletters (11), hvg (10), leselotte (9), geitebukkeskjegg (9), bergs47 (8), ncgraham (8), partisanslibrary (7), scott_beeler (7), amanda4242 (6), guyalice (5), smcwl (5), Conkie (5), Calyre (4), Rivendell (4), catcarlo (4), Smiler69 (4), andyl (4), gsides78 (4), r.orrison (3), datrappert (3), kirja (3), SimoneA (3), sduff222 (3), indeedox (3), jburlinson (3), Petroglyph (3), zmccarty (3), guurtjesboekenkast (2), Dija (2), pellethepoet (2), gmanas1 (2), Unplugging (2), 2wonderY (2), CDVicarage (2), CGN (2), xuesheng (2), TheoClarke (2), Elfsilbler (2), Tinuvia (2), SaintSunniva (2), timspalding (1), AnnieMod (1), slaterfamily (1), Collectorator (1), erohwedd (1), foggidawn (1), Bookoholic73 (1), Hughie2 (1), SJaneDoe (1), Mexxbooks (1), g026r (1), rsterling (1), Sensei-CRS (1), souloftherose (1), corporate_clone (1), hipdeep (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 135,558,098 books! | Top bar: Always visible