HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Big news! LibraryThing is now free to all! Read the blog post and discuss the change on Talk.
dismiss
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Group tag: politics

ActivityGroups

Pro and Con

440 members

Progressives and Conservatives: Here is a place where you can meet, argue, discuss, throw imaginary tantrums, ask questions of each other and share a virtual beer or coffee together. Simple rules:…

Political Conservatives

627 members

Readers of conservative "classics" like The Road to Serfdom, Free to Choose, Witness, etc., or conservative "contemporaries" such as Slander, Shut Up and Sing, The Age of Reagan. Not looking to stir…

Feminist Theory

1,082 members

From Mary Wollstonecraft and Simone de Beauvoir to Judith Butler and bell hooks: a group for people who like thinking about the history, philosophy and politics of what it means to 'be' a 'woman'.

Anarchism

199 members

Studies, histories, theories, accounts, discussions ...

Revolutionary left

81 members

Welcome comrade! this group is for leftists, anarchists, communists, anarcho-communists, socialists, anti-capitalists, libertarians and other revolutionaries to come together on librarything. If…

African Literature, History and Politics

13 members

A group for those with an interest in reading about all aspects of Africa.

Fall of the House of Bush-Unger, Craig

3 members

STARTING IN FEBRUARY 2011-BOOK CLUB READ ALONG See the link in msg #a for book reference...GOAL 214 PAGES BY MIDNIGHT PST, January 31, 2011. How about it? If there is no one posting they will be…

Closed

0 members

Conservatarian Connect

2 members

Progressive & Liberal! (Dormant)

1,020 members

From the just left-of-center to progressive radicalism, a forum to discuss those books and authors which help to shape, change, mold, or support political and social values & beliefs.

Political Philosophy (Dormant)

274 members

Straussians & Jacobites, Socialists & Anarchists, Distributists & Libertarians are all welcome!

Libertarian and Market Liberals (Dormant)

115 members

A group for those who want to discuss books and issues from a libertarian/market liberal stand point.

Treehuggers (Dormant)

92 members

For environmentalists and conservationists.

The Colbert Nation (Dormant)

47 members

For all fans of Stephen Colbert and his hilarious "Colbert Report" on Comedy Central. Fans of Jon Stewart and "The Daily Show" are welcome too! Even though Stephen doesn't advocate reading, we hope…

Readers Without Borders (Dormant)

48 members

Saving the world one book at a time! This group is designed for people who are interested in learning more about social and political hot topics through reading books and discussing current events.…

American Politics (Dormant)

32 members

A group designed to discuss contemporary American Politics. Views of both the Left and the Right welcome. First topic..."The Bush Malaise" inspired by a recent piece on Joe Scarborough and my recent…

Ron Paul Revolution (Dormant)

55 members

Who is Ron Paul? He is the leading advocate for freedom in our nation’s capitol. As a member of the U.S. House of Representatives serving his 10th term, Dr. Paul tirelessly works for limited…

Interventionist vs Non-Interventionist Politics/Policies (Dormant)

25 members

The US role in the world, including covert and overt interventions in other societies: When justified, when not. The pluses and minuses of pacifism or war with supporting references to Political…

(Dis)ability Politics (Dormant)

65 members

A group for (dis)abled-identified readers, writers, and activists and our allies commited to bringing ableist oppression to a grinding halt. We define (dis)ability in the most inclusive sense of the…

Libertarian Political Philosophy (Dormant)

37 members

A group dedicated to reading and discussing particular works of libertarian political philosophy. We shall commence with Anthony de Jasay's The State.

Classically Liberal (Dormant)

69 members

Individual liberty, economic freedom, and equality under the law in a constitutional republic. A taste for American beer optional. (Keywords: classical liberal, libertarian; let me know what else I…

Book Lovers for Obama (Dormant)

6 members

A place to vent politically in these last 3 days before the election -- to anticipate, to comment and hopefully to celebrate for all those who just can't contain themselves anymore!

Statist Political Philosophy (Dormant)

17 members

“All within the state, nothing outside the state, nothing against the state.” I think some Italian guy said this. I think he was one of the dissidents against American corporate influence or the…

Politics.ie (Dormant)

24 members

Users of Politics.ie

CC China (Dormant)

4 members

Contemporary Communist China For anyone interested to discuss contemporary¹ communist China, it is inspired by Chinapol without knowing much about it, a design for the group is to *not* stir shit to…

The Daily Show (Dormant)

15 members

Discuss books talked about on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart

Codex Obama (Dormant)

6 members

A group interested in politics, the election, literature, etc.

ISAIAH BERLIN (Dormant)

7 members

Pierre Elliott Trudeau (Dormant)

3 members

This group is a forum to discuss Canada's 15th Prime Minister, Pierre Elliot Trudeau. It is intended to be for everyone from Trudeaumaniacs to people who think he was the worst thing to happen to…

Teabaggers and Bushitters (Dormant)

1 member

Traditionalists and Reactionaries (Dormant)

2 members

A group for the reactionary, neophyte or seasoned. A modern primer: https://www.amazon.com/Reactionary-Mind-Conservatism-Edmund-Burke/dp/0199959110

Liberal (Dormant)

2 members

Group for Canadian Liberals, also known as the Grits. "Canada's natural governing party" www.liberal.ca www.canadaka.net www.progressivebloggers.ca www.liblogs.ca

Geschiedenis van Europa (Dormant)

1 member

Over de geschiedenis van Europese naties, culturen en tradities

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 146,480,143 books! | Top bar: Always visible