Early ReviewersM. r. Carey

LibraryThing author page

July 2021 Batch

Giveaway Ended: July 26 at 06:00 pm EDT

Available as Kindle, epub or pdf. Twenty-six stories, selected by editor Donna Scott from disparate places, that represent some of the best SF published anywhere during 2020: stories of heroism, stories of loss, stories of wonder. In this volume you will encounter deftly crafted tales that explore such things as the progress of AI consciousness, considerations in health and social care, and the meaning of those things that are unique in their significance to mankind: the true meaning of love, and the linear nature, or not, of time. Contents: Introduction – Donna Scott War Crimes – M. R. Carey Blue and Blue and Blue and Pink – Lavie Tidhar All I Asked For – Anne Charnock The Savages – David Gullen Infinite Tea in the Demara Café – Ida Keogh Lazarus, Unbound – Liam Hogan The Cyclops – Teika Marija Smits Brave New World by Oscar Wilde – Ian Watson Chimy and Chris – Stephen Oram Mudlarking – Neil Williamson Infectious – Liz Williams Cofiwch Aberystwyth– Val Nolan Panspermia High – Eric Brown Exhibit E – L. P. Melling The Lori – Fiona Moore Wilson Dreams of Peacocks – Melanie Smith Variations on Heisenberg's Third Concerto – Eleanor R Wood The World is on Fire and You're Out of Milk – Rhiannon Grist The Turbine at the End of the World – James Rowland What Happened to 70 – C. R. Berry Rings Around Saturn – Rosie Oliver The Good Shepherd – Stewart C Hotson Pineapples Are Not the Only Bromeliad – RB Kelly Like Clocks Work – Andi Buchanan Watershed – John Gilbey Here Today – Geoff Nelder About the Authors
Media
Ebook
Genres
Science Fiction, Fiction and Literature
Offered by
NewCon Press (Publisher)
Links
Book InformationLibraryThing Work Page
Batch Closed
25
copies
198
requests

September 2020 Batch

Giveaway Ended: September 28 at 06:00 pm EDT

Thirteen stories that look to the future of this diverse, multi-faceted city, London; stories that invite the reader to consider different perspectives. Stories that draw you in to possible tomorrows and suggest what may lie just beyond the city’s ever-changing skyline. Militant A.I.s, virtual realities, augmented realities and alternative realities; a city where murderers stalk the streets, where drug lords rule from the shadows, and where large sections of the population are locked in time stasis, but where tea is still sipped in cafés on the corner and the past still resonates with the future... Neal Asher opens the anthology with a story set in his Polity Universe, Dave Hutchinson gives us a novelette from his Fractured Universe milieu, Jeremy Szal takes us to the world of his debut novel Stormblood, M.R. Carey, Aliette de Bodard, Geoff Ryman, Aliya Whiteley and a cast of equally talented writers transport us to Londons near and far... Contents: 1. Introduction by Ian Whates 2. Skin – Neal Asher 3. The Good Shepherd – Stewart Hotston 4. Infinite Tea in the Demara Café – Ida Keogh 5. War Crimes – M.R. Carey 6. Fog and Pearls at the King’s Cross Junction – Aliya Whiteley 7. Nightingale Floors – Dave Hutchinson 8. Something Went Wrong in Heaven – Geoff Ryman 9. A Visit in Whitechapel – Eugen Bacon 10. Herd Instinct – Fiona Moore 11. Death Aid – Joseph Elliott-Coleman 12. A Dance of Dust and Life – Aliette de Bodard 13. Commute – Andrew Wallace 14. Scream in Blue – Jeremy Szal 15. About the Authors Book is available as Kindle, epub, or pdf.
Media
Ebook
Genres
Science Fiction, Fiction and Literature
Offered by
NewCon Press (Publisher)
Links
Book InformationLibraryThing Work Page
Batch Closed
25
copies
81
requests

Hachette Showcase Bonus Batch Batch: 2 Books Offered

Giveaway Ended: July 1 at 06:00 pm EDT

Series: Hungry Plague (1)
Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius." Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh. Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad. THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin and Neil Gaiman.
Media
Paper
Genres
General Fiction, Science Fiction, Horror, Fiction and Literature
Offered by
Orbit Books (Publisher)
Link
LibraryThing Work Page
Batch Closed
25
copies
1,208
requests
The Girl with All the GiftsQuick Look
Digital audiobook
Series: Hungry Plague (1)
(UNABRIDGED DOWNLOADABLE AUDIOBOOK) Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius." Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh. Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad. THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin and Neil Gaiman.
Media
Digital audiobook
Genre
Fiction and Literature
Offered by
Hachette Audio (Publisher)
Link
LibraryThing Work Page
Batch Closed
15
copies
472
requests