The Randolph Caldecott Medal: History, Terms, and Criteria

TalkThe LibraryThing Mock Newbery and Caldecott

Join LibraryThing to post.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal: History, Terms, and Criteria

This topic is currently marked as "dormant"—the last message is more than 90 days old. You can revive it by posting a reply.

Edited: Aug 10, 2012, 9:58pm

Caldeott Medal homepage

The Caldecott Medal for picture book illustration was first awarded in 1938. It is celebrating its 75th anniversary this year. Here are the terms, as stated on the American Library Association website:
1. The Medal shall be awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children published by an American publisher in the United States in English during the preceding year. There are no limitations as to the character of the picture book except that the illustrations be original work. Honor books may be named. These shall be books that are also truly distinguished.
2. The award is restricted to artists who are citizens or residents of the United States. Books published in a U.S. territory or U.S. commonwealth are eligible.
3. The committee in its deliberations is to consider only books eligible for the award, as specified in the terms.
More information is available on the site I linked to at the top of this post.