HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
Have you checked out SantaThing, LibraryThing's gift-giving tradition?
dismiss
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Baal (1919)

by Bertolt Brecht

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
641334,145 (3.31)1
BAAL, which renowned playwright Bertolt Brecht (1898-1956) wrote when he was in college, is the provocative story of a drunken, ruthless, womanizing poet and singer, a desperate antihero in the tradition of Villon and Rimbaud. The NEW YORK TIMES called the first American production strong stuff, both horrible and fascinating.… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

This wasn’t what I had expected. This is a bizarre tale of a charismatic roustabout, think Andy Griffith as Lonesome Roads. He swims in an endless ocean of brandy, his stupor affords him the carnal favors of nearly every woman and a license for some beautiful if nihilistic poetry.

The play is a series of brief episodes which advance Baal through most conventions into a naturalistic denouement which recalls the vision of von Stroheim. The ambiguity of this depravity, draws its motivation into question: does Brecht’s Darwinian vacuum anticipate the Final Solution? I will steer clear of such conjecture. ( )
  jonfaith | Feb 22, 2019 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

BAAL, which renowned playwright Bertolt Brecht (1898-1956) wrote when he was in college, is the provocative story of a drunken, ruthless, womanizing poet and singer, a desperate antihero in the tradition of Villon and Rimbaud. The NEW YORK TIMES called the first American production strong stuff, both horrible and fascinating.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.31)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2
2.5 1
3 5
3.5
4 2
4.5
5 3

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 164,311,078 books! | Top bar: Always visible