HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

My Year with Eleanor: A Memoir by Noelle…
Loading...

My Year with Eleanor: A Memoir (original 2011; edition 2011)

by Noelle Hancock

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
21410128,860 (3.76)3
In the year leading up to her thirtieth birthday, the author, a former media blogger, turns to Eleanor Roosevelt for guidance as she spends the last months of her twenties pursuing a "year of fear" during which she embarks on many adventures.
Member:catherinehender
Title:My Year with Eleanor: A Memoir
Authors:Noelle Hancock
Info:Ecco (2011), Hardcover, 304 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

My Year with Eleanor: A Memoir by Noelle Hancock (2011)

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 3 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 10 (next | show all)
After losing her job, and with birthday #30 looming, Noelle takes up Eleanor Roosevelt's challenge to do one thing each day that scares you.
The book is an enjoyable read, with Noelle sharing some of her undertakings and also some of what she's learning about Eleanor Roosevelt through reading her books. ( )
  CYGeeker | Sep 6, 2018 |
This book is a memoir of the author's experience around fear and courage - I liked the idea, but I think I have read a few too many "year-long" project books, so I am shelving this a little more than mid-way through. I just couldn't relate. However, if you like this genre, you will be sure to enjoy this book. ( )
  PlanCultivateCreate | Aug 18, 2018 |
Noelle Hancock loses her job as a blogger for a website for one of the current celebrity magazines. With no job in sight and having read a few books about Eleanor Roosevelt, she decides to spend the year dealing with her fears. They included skydiving, swimming with sharks as a few of the major fears. She tried to put herself out there in her fear every day in some manner.
It was an interesting book because it made me want to know more about Eleanor Roosevelt! I sometimes had trouble reading about someone who although she probably could have gotten a new job quickly - didn't. She spent the year spending money on adventures to conquer her fears - and write this book, so I guess there was an end to the means!
Enjoyable, quick read and I enjoyed the Eleanor insight. ( )
  NancyJak | Mar 27, 2016 |
Noelle Hancock provides us her experience of a year of facing her fears head on. I found her very easy to read, funny and insightful. Often I found myself unexpectedly pausing to reliving my own experiences and whether I handled them as best I could or did I take the easy way out and why did I. I also found the book as a good introduction for me to Eleanor Roosevelt. I knew very little about Eleanor but am thoroughly intrigued now to read more about her as she seems to be a fascinating person who accomplished amazing things and apparently put her mark on this country. ( )
  rayski | Mar 29, 2014 |
It is impossible not to like Noelle Hancock in her year long journey of self-discovery. Yes, she is lucky to be able to take a year away from paid employment to devote herself to nothing but facing her fears but she does not allow herself to paint an overwhelmingly flattering picture of herself.
Eleanor Roosevelt is a supporting character in the book and receives the same honest assessment that Hancock gives herself.

This book would be recommended for fans of books like Julie and Julia and similar memoirs as well as
self help fans looking for something along the lines of Augusten Burrough's recent book, This is How. ( )
  Vantine | Mar 14, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 10 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

In the year leading up to her thirtieth birthday, the author, a former media blogger, turns to Eleanor Roosevelt for guidance as she spends the last months of her twenties pursuing a "year of fear" during which she embarks on many adventures.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.76)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 6
2.5
3 9
3.5 1
4 23
4.5 2
5 11

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 208,367,518 books! | Top bar: Always visible