HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Aloha from Hell: A Sandman Slim Novel by…
Loading...

Aloha from Hell: A Sandman Slim Novel (original 2012; edition 2014)

by Richard Kadrey (Author)

Series: Sandman Slim (3)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
7085227,684 (3.8)39
"Richard Kadrey is a genius."  --Holly Black "Sandman Slim is my kind of hero."  --Kim Harrison All hail Sandman Slim, author Richard Kadrey's ultra-extreme anti-hero and recent escapee from Lucifer's overheated Underworld playground. Legendary author William Gibson (Neuromancer) called Kadrey's first deliciously twisted Slim adventure "an addictively satisfying, deeply amusing, dirty-ass masterpiece," and in number three, Aloha from Hell, the ruthless avenger, a.k.a. Stark, finds himself trapped in the middle of a war between Heaven and Hell. With God on vacation, the Devil nosing around in Paradise, and an insane serial killer doing serious damage on Earth, Stark/Slim is ready to unleash some more adrenaline-surging, edgy and violent supernatural mayhem--and even pay another visit to Hell if necessary--which is great news for fans of Jim Butcher, Warren Ellis, Charlaine Harris, Kim Harrison, and Simon R. Green.… (more)
Member:monazite
Title:Aloha from Hell: A Sandman Slim Novel
Authors:Richard Kadrey (Author)
Info:Harper Voyager (2014), 464 pages
Collections:Own, Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

Aloha from Hell by Richard Kadrey (2012)

  1. 00
    Dead Men's Boots by Mike Carey (LongDogMom)
    LongDogMom: Similar type of writing and characterization
  2. 00
    For Heaven's Eyes Only by Simon R. Green (chaos012)
  3. 00
    Already Dead by Charlie Huston (crimeminister)
    crimeminister: If you like your urban fantasy a little gritty, a little grimey, with a stiff splash of noir to add character, read the Joe Pitt series by Charlie Huston. It's a little less fantastic, a little more bleak than the world of Sandman Slim, but any fan of one will probably like the other.… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 39 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 51 (next | show all)
Sandman Slim feels alone after his last adventures. That's what it seemed to me. This new case gives him something to focus on and it leads him straight to hell (literally). Sandman Slim is a deeper this time, but "Aloha from Hell" still funny and fast. ( )
  nab6215 | Jan 18, 2022 |
This bogged down for me in the slog across Hell. I wanted to get to the end enough to power through. I hope Stark doesn't spend too much time as Lucifer. ( )
  Je9 | Aug 10, 2021 |
James Stark (a/k/a Sandman Slim) is literally hell bent on killing Mason Faim, who he believes was responsible for killing his girlfriend and is now trying to organize the generals in hell to attack heaven. Entering hell to rescue his kidnapped dead girlfriend (Alice) via the Convergence (a sort of wasteland between earth and hell), Stark rescues a slave from Mammon only to find the slave is Jack the Ripper, who then betrays Stark. Stark then goes to Tartarus and mounts a daring rescue of the only general willing to oppose Stark and despite their differences align with the Kissi to attack Mason. Kadrey's witty lines are still fun, as is Stark's budding romance with Candy, a stone-cold killing Jade, where they literally wreck a hotel room having sex. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
Who knew that Lucifer is a title, not a name?

There is, obviously, a 4th book in the works. BUT, he didn't stop in the middle of a story.

I love the way Kadrey writes. His characters as smartasses and absolutely hilarious. ( )
  KittyCunningham | Apr 26, 2021 |
Another fun read in the series. The author flirts with some deeper ideas on the nature of things, what good and evil might mean, and the power of love, but the author is more interested in snarky comments, action and telling an adventure story. So fun but maybe a tad shallow. ( )
  Skybalon | Mar 19, 2020 |
Showing 1-5 of 51 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (2 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Richard Kadreyprimary authorall editionscalculated
Andrews, MacLeodNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
I sat the shore
Fishing, with the arid plain behind me
Shall I at least set my lands in order?

–T.S. Eliot, The Waste Land
Life is a bucket of shit with a

barbed wire handle. 

–Jim Thompson 
Dedication
First words
"Tell me," says the Frenchman. "How long has it been since you last killed anything?"
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

"Richard Kadrey is a genius."  --Holly Black "Sandman Slim is my kind of hero."  --Kim Harrison All hail Sandman Slim, author Richard Kadrey's ultra-extreme anti-hero and recent escapee from Lucifer's overheated Underworld playground. Legendary author William Gibson (Neuromancer) called Kadrey's first deliciously twisted Slim adventure "an addictively satisfying, deeply amusing, dirty-ass masterpiece," and in number three, Aloha from Hell, the ruthless avenger, a.k.a. Stark, finds himself trapped in the middle of a war between Heaven and Hell. With God on vacation, the Devil nosing around in Paradise, and an insane serial killer doing serious damage on Earth, Stark/Slim is ready to unleash some more adrenaline-surging, edgy and violent supernatural mayhem--and even pay another visit to Hell if necessary--which is great news for fans of Jim Butcher, Warren Ellis, Charlaine Harris, Kim Harrison, and Simon R. Green.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Supernatural fantasy’s greatest anti-hero goes back to hell!
In Sandman Slim Stark came back from hell for revenge.
In Kill the Dead he tackled both a zombie plague and being Lucifer’s bodyguard.
Once again all is not right in L.A. Lucifer is back in Heaven, God is on vacation, and an insane killer mounts a war against both Heaven and Hell.
Stark’s got to head back down to his old stomping grounds in Hell to rescue his long lost love, stop an insane serial killer, prevent both Good and Evil from completely destroying each other, and stop the demonic Kissi from ruining the party for everyone.
Even for Sandman Slim, that’s a tall order. And it’s only the beginning.
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.8)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 5
2.5 4
3 82
3.5 15
4 149
4.5 6
5 44

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 180,322,504 books! | Top bar: Always visible