HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Once Loved (Shattered Past Book 2)

by Cecy Robson

Series: Shattered Past (2)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1741,000,053 (4.29)None
He's the campus golden boy. She's picking up the pieces of her broken past. But in Cecy Robson's scorching novel of second chances--perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn--their differences only make their connection more explosive. Every memory Lety Tres Santos has from her childhood comes with a scar--some emotional, some physical. Her father is an abusive drug addict, and her mother enables his destructive behavior. College offers Lety a fresh start . . . until her father finds a way to ruin that, too. Now, after losing her scholarship to kick off junior year, Lety must somehow stay in school, pay tuition, and turn a deaf ear to the whispers that follow her. And she intends to do it all without Brody Quaid's help. Brody is a lacrosse star, a 4.0 student--and as a freshman, he fell hard for the beautiful and spirited Lety. But their relationship crashed and burned because he couldn't break through the walls she's put up around her heart. With Lety hurting more than ever, Brody strives to win her back and make her believe in real love and true partnership. That will mean opening up secrets locked away in his own past--and trusting someone more than he's ever dared. Lety knows how painful it can be to depend on the wrong man. She also knows how much Brody wants to do this the right way. But it takes more than sizzling desire to move on and build a future together.… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 4 of 4
So once again we are venture back in to the Santos lives, but this time we are with Lety.
Lety is away at a private college, on a scholarship, thankfully escaping the abusive life with her father. Well she was, until her abusive father turned up at her college and Lety lost her scholarship. Faced with having to go back home or asking her brother and his wife for the money, Lety begs the Dean to allow her to take on yet another job (because one job, being the RA and being a nursing student is not enough), to allow her to come up with the extra 20 thousand dollars all her grants do not cover. So she starts working for the Moore family and the sweet little boy Tommy.
Suddenly Brody (her boyfriend from her first year) pushes his way back into her life, Lety is still very much in love with Brody and even though she doesn’t feel worthy of him, they continue their romance. That is until Carlos comes back to destroy Lety.
This book is so beautiful and heart breaking all at the same time. Once Loved literally had me on the edge of my seat all the way through. The subjects that it deals with is not for the faint of heart, so this is not a soft New Adult Romance, but a hard as nails, gripping the edge of your seat story of love.
The story is well written and researched with no plot holes. I would recommend you read Once Perfect BEFORE reading Once Loved as it will give you the insight you need. Once Loved is an amazing story, one which I will read again and again, so it earns 10 out of 10.
( )
  Cara_Ross | Aug 16, 2016 |
Loved this book and I am loving this series. Another wonderfully written contemporary romance from this author. This is Lety's story. The incredibly sweet hardworking Lety hasn't had an easy life but she has big dreams and is determined to reach them. Brody Quaid is wealthy, smart, athletic, and loves Lety with all he has. All he wants is to help her fulfill her dreams with him by her side but the secrets from both their pasts threaten to keep them apart.

This is an incredibly emotional read and it is one I would recommend to everyone! Can't wait for Sophie and Killian's story! ( )
  Bette_Hansen | Nov 3, 2015 |
Cecy Robson's Shattered Past series is an emotional rollercoaster, one minute it's all fun and smiles and the next my heart could break it's so sad.
Brody and Lety return from book 1. Lety has had a lot of pain and abuse in her family which holds her back where relationships are concerned, she feels it's safer all round to not get involved. Brody doesn't agree, he understands how she feels as his family isn't so great either, despite the fact that they are very wealthy, but after a year apart want's to back together with her as couple.
We learn that Brody has some serious family issues he has to contend with and Lety's father Carlos continues to terrorize her and the rest of her family.
There is some fun though as Brody's personality gives this story and it's serious subject matter a fun release with his fast and quirky comments to break tense moments.
The story on the whole manages to show a sense of family bonding and strength, and Ms. Robson's characters and situations, as usual, were very believable.
I'm looking forward to the next book in the series, Killian and Sophia's story. ( )
  JulieD2 | Jan 10, 2015 |
ARC provided by publisher via Netgalley in exchange for honest review.

Enjoyable story, some parts were predictable, but there with a certain twist I did NOT see coming.

Mateo is definitely hawt, as described by Evelyn's best friend, and I quote "a hot guy with big muscles and an ass capable of snapping chicken necks". That my friends, is quite possibly one of the craziest descriptions I've ever been blessed to read.

Both Evelyn and Matteo have their past issues to deal with, but the difference is that Mateo's issues all have to deal with the abuse he and his sisters suffered (and still continue to suffer from) at the hands of their father. Evelyn's issues aren't presented outright, but from reading you can figure out what happened, but the kicker was when she finally realizes the truth.

Their relationship goes through fits and spurts (as most relationships do), but for the most part everything is going well until Mateo takes Evelyn to a family function. It's at this function when Evelyn is confronted with Mateo's and his sisters' reality when their father shows up. That episode is certainly the catalyst for a break-up, and I can't wait to see how it's dealt with when the next book is released. ( )
  scottnl | Oct 23, 2014 |
Showing 4 of 4
no reviews | add a review

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

He's the campus golden boy. She's picking up the pieces of her broken past. But in Cecy Robson's scorching novel of second chances--perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn--their differences only make their connection more explosive. Every memory Lety Tres Santos has from her childhood comes with a scar--some emotional, some physical. Her father is an abusive drug addict, and her mother enables his destructive behavior. College offers Lety a fresh start . . . until her father finds a way to ruin that, too. Now, after losing her scholarship to kick off junior year, Lety must somehow stay in school, pay tuition, and turn a deaf ear to the whispers that follow her. And she intends to do it all without Brody Quaid's help. Brody is a lacrosse star, a 4.0 student--and as a freshman, he fell hard for the beautiful and spirited Lety. But their relationship crashed and burned because he couldn't break through the walls she's put up around her heart. With Lety hurting more than ever, Brody strives to win her back and make her believe in real love and true partnership. That will mean opening up secrets locked away in his own past--and trusting someone more than he's ever dared. Lety knows how painful it can be to depend on the wrong man. She also knows how much Brody wants to do this the right way. But it takes more than sizzling desire to move on and build a future together.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.29)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 3
4.5
5 3

GenreThing

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 159,202,650 books! | Top bar: Always visible