HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

As Night Falls: A Novel by Jenny Milchman
Loading...

As Night Falls: A Novel (original 2015; edition 2015)

by Jenny Milchman (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
14715150,190 (3.43)1
From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snow comes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a family - a read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.
Member:jms68776
Title:As Night Falls: A Novel
Authors:Jenny Milchman (Author)
Info:Ballantine Books (2015), 384 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

As Night Falls by Jenny Milchman (2015)

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 1-5 of 15 (next | show all)
4.5 stars.

As Night Falls by Jenny Milchman is a pulse pounding psychological thriller that will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the story's dramatic conclusion.

The night begins like any other night in the Tremont household. Sandy is putting the finishing touches on dinner while waiting for her husband Ben and daughter Ivy to return home. Ivy arrives first and after a bit of an argument with Sandy, she storms upstairs to her room. Sandy and Ben enjoy a rare dinner alone after Ivy refuses to come downstairs and eat with them. However, their evening takes a frightening turn when two strangers enter the secluded house through the unlocked front door as Sandy and Ben are cleaning up the kitchen. The two men, Nick and Harlan, are escaped convicts who want something that only Ben can provide but violence erupts when Ben fights to protect his family from the intruders. Just when it seems nothing else can go wrong, an early snowstorm wreaks havoc on Nick's plans and the Tremont's terror continues unabated for the next several hours.

Nick and Harlan are cellmates and although Harlan is the one everyone first fears, it soon becomes apparent that Nick is the brains behind the escape while Harlan supplies the brawn. Nick is highly intelligent and personable until things begin to spiral out of control and he is quick to respond to any threats with cold, calculated violence. Harlan is a gentle giant but his less than average intelligence leaves him vulnerable to Nick's manipulation. He obeys Nick without question although he is uncomfortable with what he is being ordered to do.

Sandy is a therapist and she employs some tricks of the trade as she tries to drive a wedge between the two men. Some of her endeavors are moderately successful but she completely underestimates Nick's ability to read any situation. Many of these attempts backfire, further endangering the family. Ben's instinct to protect his wife and daughter is overwhelming and he refuses to quit fighting even in the face of escalating violence. Ivy's survival instincts are equally strong and she never stops trying to escape her captors.

One of the questions that drives the story is understanding why Nick targeted the Tremont family. On the surface, the answer appears clear early on, but the real reason behind Nick's motive for selecting the Tremont's is quite shocking. Equally perplexing is the reason the men were incarcerated in the first place. Flashbacks provide valuable insight into Nick's behavior from the time he was quite young and while it is obvious that he most likely committed a heinous crime, the truth is absolutely stunning. Harlan's crimes are completely unrelated to Nick's and surprisingly, he is a very sympathetic character despite his participation in Nick's twisted plan.

While As Night Falls is not a traditional whodunit, there are numerous secrets to uncover and Jenny Milchman masterfully keeps readers off balance with a number of unexpected plot twists. Cleverly written with plenty of action, this riveting novel poses some very thought-provoking questions about what drives a person to commit acts of violence. A very intriguing high octane thriller that fans of the genre do not want to miss. ( )
  kbranfield | Feb 3, 2020 |
What an intense mystery this is. I totally devoured this book so that I could see how it ended. What appears to be a random home invasion has many twists and turns that threaten to destroy a family. This is truly a mystery worth reading. ( )
  CandyH | Jan 29, 2016 |
This is a 'grab your hat and hang on' thrill ride from beginning to end. It is a home invasion story with many surprises, twists, and turns. The plot of this book was well written and most of the characters, even minor ones, were well developed. One of the bad guys nudged my heart to the point he brought tears to my eyes. The book keeps you guessing as to what will happen next. The ending, while wrapping everything up nicely, was, to me, a little creepy and took away from the book. I received this book from NetGalley for an honest review. ( )
  BevAsh | Jan 24, 2016 |
This is a 'grab your hat and hang on' thrill ride from beginning to end. It is a home invasion story with many surprises, twists, and turns. The plot of this book was well written and most of the characters, even minor ones, were well developed. One of the bad guys nudged my heart to the point he brought tears to my eyes. The book keeps you guessing as to what will happen next. The ending, while wrapping everything up nicely, was, to me, a little creepy and took away from the book. I received this book from NetGalley for an honest review. ( )
  BevAsh | Jan 24, 2016 |
Very low two stars, struggled to finish, very boring ( )
  DianaFord | Jan 5, 2016 |
Showing 1-5 of 15 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snow comes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a family - a read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

LibraryThing Author

Jenny Milchman is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.43)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 6
3.5 4
4 12
4.5 1
5 1

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 165,963,064 books! | Top bar: Always visible