HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Happy Holidays! The 12 Days of LT scavenger hunt is going on. Can you solve the clues?
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

This Must Be the Place by Maggie…
Loading...

This Must Be the Place (2017)

by Maggie O'Farrell

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3993338,860 (3.9)33
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 33 mentions

English (30)  Catalan (2)  Spanish (1)  All languages (33)
Showing 1-5 of 30 (next | show all)
Beautifully written story of family dysfunction. This family is a bit more complicated than most, but the issues that tear them apart and eventually bring them back together are pretty universal. I found myself rooting for them to make better choices, even as I knew that their personalities wouldn't allow them to. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this one. ( )
  duchessjlh | Aug 18, 2018 |
Maggie O'Farrell is a wonderful story teller. This book follows a family, Claudette Wells, an actress and director who has disappeared from the world and Daniel her husband. Other characters are their shared children and their children from previous relationships. The story flits between time and space as the tale unfolds over decades. Here is love and tragedy and humour and mostly family life. Beautifully constructed and expertly held together this is a joyful read. ( )
  Tifi | Jun 30, 2018 |
Why is it that families are so complicated? Even more so when step-parents and children are involved. Maggie O’Farrell’s tender book revolves around these observations and deftly uncovers how seemingly minor hesitations or omissions in deed or word come to have major long-lasting impacts on our lives.
This moving and enticing novel charts these questions across a thirty year time span and across the world as Claudette and Daniel attempt to make a new life together with their children and stepchildren.
O’Farrell captures their fluctuating emotions and relationship as they struggle with their inner weakness, but try to keep their relationship intact, with some evocative and revealing writing that is a joy to read.
  camharlow2 | Jun 4, 2018 |
I love Maggie O'Farrell's work, and this is a very strong portrait of a flawed man, seen from multiple viewpoints. Very close to being one of my favorite reads of 2016, but it slipped a little in the last quarter and I didn't quite buy the ending. ( )
  GaylaBassham | May 27, 2018 |
Maggie O’Farrell goes from strength to strength. Totally engrossing story. ( )
  sianpr | Apr 23, 2018 |
Showing 1-5 of 30 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Information from the Spanish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Information from the Spanish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Information from the Spanish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
El mundo está más loco de lo que creemos, y todavía más, incorregiblemente diverso.
Snow. Louis MacNeice
Dedication
Information from the Spanish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
A Vilmos
First words
Information from the Spanish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Un hombre.
Quotations
Last words
Information from the Spanish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Information from the Spanish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0385349424, Hardcover)

An irresistible love story for fans of The Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette: Maggie O'Farrell's This Must Be the Place is a smart, sophisticated, spellbinding summer read that captures the collapse--and reawakening--of an extraordinary marriage.

Daniel Sullivan, a young American professor reeling from a failed marriage and a brutal custody battle, is on holiday in Ireland when he falls in love with Claudette, a world-famous sexual icon and actress who fled fame for a reclusive life in a rural village. Together, they make an idyllic life in the country, raising two more children in blissful seclusion--until a secret from Daniel's past threatens to destroy their meticulously constructed and fiercely protected home. What follows is a journey through Daniel's many lives told in his voice and the voices of those who have made him the man he is: the American son and daughter he has not seen for many years; the family he has made with Claudette; and irrepressible, irreverent Claudette herself. Shot through with humor and wisdom, This Must Be the Place is a powerful rumination on the nature of identity, and the complexities of loyalty and devotion--a gripping story of an extraordinary family and an extraordinary love.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 21 Jan 2016 11:06:24 -0500)

"Daniel Sullivan, a young American professor reeling from a failed marriage and a brutal custody battle, is on holiday in Ireland when he falls in love with Claudette, a world famous sexual icon and actress who fled fame for a reclusive life in a rural village. Together, they make an idyllic life in the country, raising two more children in blissful seclusion until a secret from Daniel's past threatens to destroy their meticulously constructed and fiercely protected home. What follows is a journey through Daniel's many lives told in his voice and the voices of those who have made him the man he is: the American son and daughter he has not seen for many years; the family he has made with Claudette; and irrepressible, irreverent Claudette herself. Shot through with humor and wisdom, This Must Be the Place is a powerful rumination on the nature of identity, and the complexities of loyalty and devotion a gripping story of an extraordinary family and an extraordinary love"--… (more)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.9)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 4
2.5 3
3 22
3.5 9
4 41
4.5 11
5 28

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 130,838,510 books! | Top bar: Always visible