HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Where the Souls Go (Black Mountain) by Ann…
Loading...

Where the Souls Go (Black Mountain)

by Ann Hite

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
611,268,033 (4)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Where the Souls Go is a tale of secrets and tragedy within a family. It seems that each generation of this family has a secret to keep, from AzLeigh to Grace Jean and Pearl, and finally Annie Todd, who tries to figure out why her family is touched by tragedy and who the ghost girl is who seems to be attached to them. Through the stories of these characters, we slowly discover why each woman is the way that she is, what tragedy has molded and shaped her, and what difficult choices she made to survive. In this book, good and evil were not always black and white, and good people sometimes did bad things for good reasons. As you learn more about this seemingly cursed family, you come to realize that each of us carries of load that nobody else sees, and that perhaps the way to lighten the load is to tell others about it. This was a well written story of a family with many ghosts and perhaps a touch of magic. ( )
  Bookseiffel | Feb 23, 2018 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0881465380, Paperback)

At the age of ten, Annie Todd finds not only is her mother quite mad but that Annie has inherited an unusual legacy. The ghost of a young girl visits Annie in her new home deep in the mountains of Western North Carolina, where Annie's mother, Grace Jean, has hidden them away from the life they used to know. Annie finds an unlikely ally in Pearl, a young woman who keeps house in Annie's new home. The secrets that surround Pearl take Annie's mind off her loneliness and soon her family history is revealed to her. "Instead of wind, I heard my name being called. The whispery voice came from the woods. 'Annie Todd'. My sixth sense had not yet kicked in and didn't warn me I was standing on the backbone of my history." WHERE THE SOULS GO is Ann Hite's third novel set in Black Mountain, North Carolina. Readers who loved GHOST ON BLACK MOUNTAIN, Hite's first novel, will find many of the characters familiar. This book follows three generations of the Pritchard family, not only telling the story of how Hobbs Pritchard became the villain of Black Mountain, but highlighting women's struggles in Appalachia, beginning in the Depression Era and ending in the mid-sixties.

(retrieved from Amazon Wed, 16 Mar 2016 23:44:42 -0400)

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 1
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 124,590,621 books! | Top bar: Always visible