HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Palatine (Karnac Library Series) by LJ…
Loading...

Palatine (Karnac Library Series)

by LJ Trafford

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1031,259,379 (4)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 3 of 3
Brilliant! I never thought if read a book about Rome under the Romans but it was so well written, funny and well paced that I loved it. The characters are brilliantly drawn. I loved the portrayal of Nero and Sporus. I loved the uptight Sabinus too and even cried at the end! ( )
  sarahpeacock28 | Oct 21, 2018 |
A breezy, light-hearted look at the last years of Nero's reign, this novel was a sort of "Upstairs, Downstairs" conception of those living and working in the palace. One of the Praetorian prefects, Nymphidius Sabinus, is the driving force for the final coup to dislodge Nero from his position, leading to Nero's suicide [admittedly assisted by his secretary, Epaphroditus.] The no-nonsense Nymphidius Sabinus is the de facto ruler in the interregnum until Galba should march in from Spain. There's a sweet friendship between Philo, the secretary's bashful freedman secretary and Teretia, his landlord's daughter. The writing was really witty and humorous; I found myself chuckling all through the novel--at the action and also at some of the turns of phrase. The author's characterizations of everyone were very well drawn; each had well-defined personalities. I'm eager to read the other books in the tetralogy, all of which concern the "Year of the Four Emperors", 68-69 AD.

Highly recommended. ( )
  janerawoof | Feb 24, 2018 |
Interesting idea to tell the story of the coup against Nero from the inside by the palace slaves, however the characters are bit too cliched and the book swings between being the story of the coup to being a simple tale of love and lust .. ( )
  moncur_d | Mar 13, 2017 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

Debauchery. Depravity. Decadence.Just everyday life at the imperial palace.Whilst Emperor Nero plays with his new water organ and a cross-dressing eunuch, his wily secretary Epaphroditus manages affairs of state. But dissent and rebellion are growing across the empire, and Nero is soon to discover playtime is over.Praetorian prefect Nymphidius Sabinus, disgusted by the moral degeneracy, secretly plots the overthrow of Nero's court. Motivated by the traditional Roman values of valour and nobility, yet blinded by his own righteousness, Sabinus is ignorant of what he has unleashed - The Year of the Four Emperors.Palatine is the first in an enthralling four-book series about the tumultuous 'Year of the Four Emperors' which will appeal to fans of Lindsey Davis and George R. R. Martin.… (more)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 1
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 131,812,561 books! | Top bar: Always visible