HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Dead Ground in Between (Detective Inspector…
Loading...

Dead Ground in Between (Detective Inspector Tom Tyler Mysteries)

by Maureen Jennings

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
312518,860 (4.08)17

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 17 mentions

Showing 2 of 2
I started with this one, the fourth in the the series, because the setting is December 1942 the month my husband was born. Ex-pat Jennings, who now lives in Canada, has recreated the English winter of 1942 with a vivid reality that transports the reader to wartime shortages, rationing, evacuees, POWs, national secrets and uncertainty about the future. This story has great characters, authentic setting, combined with a page-turner mystery and the distant memory of an earlier battle of Roundheads and Cavaliers. Jennings provides the inspiration of the story in an author's note at the end.

Another series for my must-read list! ( )
1 vote VivienneR | Feb 7, 2017 |
The latest installment of the Tom Tyler series sees Tyler with some new personal developments as he tackles a missing-persons case that becomes a murder. There seemed to be a lot of threads running through this story, and I found it more difficult to muster up enthusiasm. Part of that could have been rushing to read it to a deadline (it was due back at the library and had holds on it, so I couldn't renew). Also, there were parts involving people poaching rabbits, and those made me sad. I will probably still continue with the series, because the personal developments are interesting, but I will have to budget more time to read the book so that there is no rush to get through it. ( )
  rabbitprincess | Aug 25, 2016 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0771050550, Paperback)

From Canada's premier author of historical mysteries, Maureen Jennings, comes the haunting fourth novel in the DI Tom Tyler series. Set in Britain during the darkest days of World War II, this is a must-read for fans of Foyle's War, Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs series, and wartime dramas.


It's late 1942; the war is still raging and the upcoming Christmas season looks bleak. Detective Inspector Tom Tyler is settling into his placement in Ludlow, Shropshire, a small town jammed with people sent there by the conflict. On the outskirts is an Italian PoW camp and many PoWs work on local farms where manpower is sorely needed. Fraternizing is forbidden but, as Tyler knows only too well, the human heart has a way of crossing boundaries.
     Tyler's job is both to keep the peace and to enforce wartime regulations. Magistrate's court is busy. Then a troubled old man goes missing in a winter storm. The next day his body is discovered in a secret hideout supposedly known to very few. It soon becomes clear that a crime has been committed, and there is no shortage of suspects. Tyler senses that the two evacuee children who found the body are not telling the entire truth, but when he goes to question them further, he learns they have taken off from their foster home. It becomes imperative that he find them.
     Showcasing her characteristic masterful storytelling and deep empathy for her characters -- from the bravest and most blameless to the profoundly troubled -- Jennings has created another outstanding novel that is both a page-turning mystery and a rich, satisfying reading experience.

(retrieved from Amazon Fri, 06 May 2016 07:37:36 -0400)

It's late 1942; the war is still raging and the upcoming Christmas season looks bleak. Detective Inspector Tom Tyler is settling into his placement in Ludlow, Shropshire, a small town jammed with people sent there by the conflict. On the outskirts is an Italian PoW camp and many PoWs work on local farms where manpower is sorely needed. Fraternizing is forbidden but, as Tyler knows only too well, the human heart has a way of crossing boundaries. Tyler's job is both to keep the peace and to enforce wartime regulations. Magistrate's court is busy. Then a troubled old man goes missing in a winter storm. The next day his body is discovered in a secret hideout supposedly known to very few. It soon becomes clear that a crime has been committed, and there is no shortage of suspects. Tyler senses that the two evacuee children who found the body are not telling the entire truth, but when he goes to question them further, he learns they have taken off from their foster home. It becomes imperative that he find them.… (more)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.08)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 3
4.5 1
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 128,999,599 books! | Top bar: Always visible