HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee
Loading...

The Thousandth Floor (edition 2016)

by Katharine McGee (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
6914124,899 (3.53)1 / 9
New York Times bestseller This edition includes never-before-seen deleted scenes, fan-favorite graphics, and a sneak peek to the next book in the series, The Dazzling Heights! New York City as you've never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible--if you want it enough. Welcome to Manhattan, 2118. A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something...and everyone has something to lose. Leda Cole's flawless exterior belies a secret addiction--to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched. Eris Dodd-Radson's beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart. Rylin Myers's job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world--and a romance--she never imagined...but will her new life cost Rylin her old one? Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he's hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies. And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all--yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have. Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Big Little Lies, debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall....… (more)
Member:BHWolves
Title:The Thousandth Floor
Authors:Katharine McGee (Author)
Info:HarperCollins (2016), 448 pages
Collections:2016 books
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

» See also 9 mentions

English (39)  French (1)  Spanish (1)  All languages (41)
Showing 1-5 of 39 (next | show all)
2.65 📚📚 Soap opera supreme. Cliff hanger ending. Multiple perspectives which intertwine only because the kids all know each other in some way. Reminded strongly of Gossip Girl/Passions/Rebelde on tv. Could have been better developed, seemed superficial. The ending was overly dramatic. But with rich bored teens, what in life isn't overly dramatic? Not terrible but not great... ( )
  The_Literary_Jedi | Jun 11, 2021 |
Pretty Little Liars meets Gossip Girl. ( )
  Cr8on6 | Dec 30, 2020 |
Even though I am a mood reader this time, I decided to pick a book based on an internet generator. I put the number of unread books I had on my TBR bookshelves and pressed enter. Voilà, the book the generator picked was The Thousandth Floor. It is the debut book of a series, and I bought it because of the booktube recommendations and the beautiful cover and the gorgeous endpapers.
This book is a futuristic YA mystery with a lot of POVs and a lot of secrets. This book has just the right combination of drama, suspense, and, most of all, ridiculousness; while I was reading it, I could see it as a tv-series.
The ending is open, so I want to know what will happen with the characters and what will happen with their secrets. ( )
  AvigailRGRIL | Nov 4, 2020 |
DNF ( )
  themoonwholistens | Aug 31, 2020 |
Vor einiger Zeit habe ich den Film High-Rise (nach dem Buch von James Graham Ballard) gesehen. Die Buchvorlage kannte ich nicht. Als ich dann - angelockt durch das schillernde Cover - die Leseprobe zu Beautiful Liars - Verbotene Gefühle gelesen habe, hatte ich so manches Déjà-vu. Auch hier ging es um soziale Schichten innerhalb eines gigantischen Towers und je höher man kommt, desto reicher, schöner, erfolgreicher etc. ist man. Schon die Leseprobe hat mich überzeugt und ich war sehr gespannt auf dieses Jugendbuch.

Trotz hoher Erwartungen hat mich Beautiful Liars - Verbotene Gefühle nicht enttäuscht - im Gegenteil! Ich bin begeistert! Von der ersten Seite an hat mich Katharine McGee in ihre Zukunftsvision mitgenommen und bis zur letzten Seite nicht mehr losgelassen. Mitreißend geschrieben wird die Intensität durch die mit jedem Kapitel wechselnde Perspektive noch erhöht, da ich Einblicke in die Gedanken der verschiedenen Protagonisten erhalte habe. Perspektivwechsel mag ich eh sehr gern.

Die Welt in diesem Mega-Tower ist großartig beschrieben. Sofern es die Bewohner in die höheren Etagen geschafft haben, gibt es nichts, was es nicht gibt. Die Menschen kommunizieren über spezielle Kontaktlinsen, bekommen in Bars ihre Getränke per fliegendem Tablett und sogar der Unterricht in der Schule wird greifbar (Auszug: "Eris lag im Geschichtsraum auf dem Boden und blickte mit ihren Klassenkameraden an die Decke, wo ein holografischer Michelangelo gerade die Sixtinische Kapelle bemalte" - was für eine tolle Idee!)

Es folgen Spoiler!
Spannend fand ich, dass es in Beautiful Liars - Verbotene Gefühle nicht nur um die Liebe zwischen Mann und Frau geht. Auch homosexuelle Liebe wird thematisiert und diese ist für alle ganz normal (na ja, vielleicht kann man darauf in der Zukunft wirklich hoffen!) Eris und Mariel hätte ich gerne weiter zusammen erlebt. Und wie schön war die Geschichte von Avery und Atlas! Mit den beiden habe ich besonders mitgefiebert und dass die Autorin die beiden zusammenbringt, hat mich überaus überrascht! Besonders wegen Atlas und Avery kann ich die Fortsetzung kaum erwarten.

Fazit: Ein durch und durch mitreißender Jugendroman. Band 2 ist bereits vorgemerkt. ( )
  Gesa-Marie | Aug 25, 2020 |
Showing 1-5 of 39 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Lizzy
First words
The sounds of laughter and music were dying down on the thousandth floor, the party breaking up by bits and pieces as even the rowdiest guests finally stumbled into the elevators and down to their homes.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

New York Times bestseller This edition includes never-before-seen deleted scenes, fan-favorite graphics, and a sneak peek to the next book in the series, The Dazzling Heights! New York City as you've never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible--if you want it enough. Welcome to Manhattan, 2118. A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something...and everyone has something to lose. Leda Cole's flawless exterior belies a secret addiction--to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched. Eris Dodd-Radson's beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart. Rylin Myers's job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world--and a romance--she never imagined...but will her new life cost Rylin her old one? Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he's hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies. And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all--yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have. Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Big Little Lies, debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall....

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.53)
0.5
1 4
1.5
2 7
2.5 2
3 39
3.5 5
4 27
4.5 2
5 20

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 160,262,928 books! | Top bar: Always visible