HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Your Second Life Begins When You Realize You Only Have One

by Raphaëlle Giordano

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1456145,601 (3.18)None
"The feel-good #1 bestselling French novel about a woman whose mission to cure her "routine-itis" leads her to lasting joy and true fulfillment, for fans of The Alchemist and Hector and the Search for Happiness. At thirty-eight and a quarter years old, Paris native Camille has everything she needs to be happy, or so it seems: a good job, a loving husband, a wonderful son. Why then does she feel as if happiness has slipped through her fingers? All she wants is to find the path to joy. When Claude, a French Sean Connery look-alike and routinologist, offers his unique advice to help get her there, she seizes the opportunity with both hands. Camille's journey is full of surprising escapades, creative capers, and deep meaning, as she sets out to transform her life and realize her dreams one step at a time. A charming, feel-good, and universal story of one woman's journey from boredom and dissatisfaction to happiness and fulfilment."--… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

French (3)  English (2)  Spanish (1)  All languages (6)
Showing 2 of 2
Routinology is a form of coaching that helps individuals improve their lives and change their lifestyles for the better. Some may have heard about it, some may have no idea of the sort. In the novel, Your Second Life Begins When You Realize You Only Have One, Raphaëlle Giordano describes the extraordinary journey of the main character changing her life with the lessons of a routinologist. Camille, the main character, learns to find what kind of lifestyle is best for her and her family, through the help of Claude, who offered to be her routinologist. She goes through many tough times, but eventually finds her way. The interesting storyline had me hooked at all times, and the ending was very surprising and unexpected. Throughout reading the book, it was exciting to imagine myself in Camille's shoes. There were, however, some scenarios that didn't make sense to the overall plot. Many readers would enjoy this book, like those that are adventurous or want to learn something new. As one follows Camille on her journey, one can also learn Claude's teachings. There's a bunch of ways Claude helped Camille cope with stress, and it may help some readers as well. I would give this book a 5/5 rating because of its well-thought-out plot, as well as the amount of information I learned and can apply to my life. Happy reading! ( )
  Angelina_Zhao | Feb 14, 2020 |
Your Second Life Begins When Realize You Only Have One is a feel-good novel that includes a lot of self-help techniques and buzz words. It was a best seller in France, and has now been translated into English.

Camille is a thirty-something woman who is diagnosed with "routinitis", and her "routinologist" Claude provides advice using some self-help techniques and descriptions, none of which are covered in depth. Camille even uses Marie Kondo's techniques to tidy up her life a bit. One drawback about this novel is that it's also not very in-depth about Camille's life and her issues -- for instance she is estranged from her father, but we never really find out why, even after they reconcile towards the end of the novel .

This was a nice rainy-day read, however, and may encourage some to look further into SMART goals and the like. ( )
  ValerieAndBooks | Feb 18, 2019 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Information from the Dutch Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

"The feel-good #1 bestselling French novel about a woman whose mission to cure her "routine-itis" leads her to lasting joy and true fulfillment, for fans of The Alchemist and Hector and the Search for Happiness. At thirty-eight and a quarter years old, Paris native Camille has everything she needs to be happy, or so it seems: a good job, a loving husband, a wonderful son. Why then does she feel as if happiness has slipped through her fingers? All she wants is to find the path to joy. When Claude, a French Sean Connery look-alike and routinologist, offers his unique advice to help get her there, she seizes the opportunity with both hands. Camille's journey is full of surprising escapades, creative capers, and deep meaning, as she sets out to transform her life and realize her dreams one step at a time. A charming, feel-good, and universal story of one woman's journey from boredom and dissatisfaction to happiness and fulfilment."--

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.18)
0.5 1
1
1.5 1
2 4
2.5
3 6
3.5 5
4 6
4.5
5 2

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 158,955,249 books! | Top bar: Always visible