HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Outside Looking In: A darkly compelling…
Loading...

Outside Looking In: A darkly compelling crime novel with a shocking twist… (edition 2016)

by Michael Wood (Author)

Series: DCI Matilda Darke (2)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
211915,617 (4.06)1
'DCI Matilda Darke is the perfect heroine' Elly Griffiths The second book in Michael Wood's darkly compelling new crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid. When elderly George Rainsford goes to investigate a suspicious noise one night, the last thing he expects to find is a bloodbath. A man has been killed and a woman brutally beaten, left for dead. The victims are Lois Craven and Kevin Hardaker - both married, but not to each other. Their spouses swear they knew nothing of the affair and, besides, they both have alibis for the attack. With nothing else to link the victims, the investigation hits a dead end. The pressure is on for investigating officer, DCI Matilda Darke: there's a violent killer on the loose, and it looks like her team members are the new targets. With no leads and no suspects, it's going to take all Matilda's wits to catch him, before he strikes again. uspects, it's going to take all Matilda's wits to catch him, before he strikes again.uspects, it's going to take all Matilda's wits to catch him, before he strikes again.uspects, it's going to take all Matilda's wits to catch him, before he strikes again.… (more)
Member:jacpam
Title:Outside Looking In: A darkly compelling crime novel with a shocking twist (DCI Matilda Darke Thriller, Book 2)
Authors:Michael Wood (Author)
Info:One More Chapter (2016), 382 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:*****
Tags:None

Work Information

Outside Looking In by Michael Wood

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Excellent, although in many ways a repeat of the first instalment: Matilda blames herself for the death of her husband and the presumed death of Carl and struggles to cope, before pulling herself together at around the 60% mark and solving the case.

The police procedural bit was very good, although

SPOILERS

I don't understand why Alice didn't report the man who threatened her to the police. For a while the plot seemed to explain this, but then a twist removed that reason... ( )
  pgchuis | Jun 9, 2019 |
no reviews | add a review

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

'DCI Matilda Darke is the perfect heroine' Elly Griffiths The second book in Michael Wood's darkly compelling new crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid. When elderly George Rainsford goes to investigate a suspicious noise one night, the last thing he expects to find is a bloodbath. A man has been killed and a woman brutally beaten, left for dead. The victims are Lois Craven and Kevin Hardaker - both married, but not to each other. Their spouses swear they knew nothing of the affair and, besides, they both have alibis for the attack. With nothing else to link the victims, the investigation hits a dead end. The pressure is on for investigating officer, DCI Matilda Darke: there's a violent killer on the loose, and it looks like her team members are the new targets. With no leads and no suspects, it's going to take all Matilda's wits to catch him, before he strikes again. uspects, it's going to take all Matilda's wits to catch him, before he strikes again.uspects, it's going to take all Matilda's wits to catch him, before he strikes again.uspects, it's going to take all Matilda's wits to catch him, before he strikes again.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4.06)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5 1
4 2
4.5
5 3

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 173,972,430 books! | Top bar: Always visible