HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Dare You

by Jennifer Brown

Series: Shade Me (#2)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
391617,866 (3.5)None
In the second book of the suspenseful Shade Me trilogy, perfect for fans of Sara Shepard's Pretty Little Liars and Kimberly McCreight's The Outliers, Nikki Kill becomes embroiled in another mystery with the gorgeous Detective Martinez when she discovers that the Hollises are trying frame her for the murder of Peyton Hollis--and only her synesthesia can help her unravel the dark truth. Nikki Kill didn't realize that trying to find out who killed Peyton Hollis would tangle her in a web of dangerous family secrets that would rock her identity to the core. But now that Nikki knows the truth, the all-powerful Hollises want to frame her for Peyton's murder. And now Nikki's only chance at escaping the cold black bars of prison or the crimson grip of death is teaming up with the enigmatic Detective Martinez and relying on an ever-shifting kaleidoscope of clues...… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

In this sequel to Shade Me (Nikki Kill #1), Nikki learns that Luna is out of prison and is probably the one responsible for framing Nikki for Peyton Hollis’ murder. With Detective Martinez’ help, Nikki tries to follow Peyton’s synesthetic clues in order to clear her name and to find Peyton’s real murderer.

Full disclosure: I hadn’t read the first book, Shade Me, prior to reading Dare You. I was able to figure out the plot and untangle the web of characters easily enough, but I’m sure I would have enjoyed Dare You a lot more if I’d read the first book. Nikki Kill is a complicated character. She has bad-ass tendencies, but she also finds it hard to trust people and let them in, which gets to be annoying after awhile. I didn’t really care about her as a character, and I didn’t find the romance between Nikki and the detective very believable. Her synesthesia is interesting, but I didn’t feel as though it made her a better detective. It made her more intuitive, I suppose, but I also found it annoying that she didn’t want to tell anyone about her special ability. The book is hefty—473 pages—and moves too slowly at times. A good editor should have helped cut out a lot of the boring, unnecessary parts. Having said all that, the cliff-hanger ending did inspire me to order the next book from the library. I haven’t started it yet, but I would like to see how the series ends.

Recommended for gr. 9-12 in libraries where Shade Me is popular; optional purchase otherwise. ( )
  SWONroyal | Sep 2, 2018 |
no reviews | add a review

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

In the second book of the suspenseful Shade Me trilogy, perfect for fans of Sara Shepard's Pretty Little Liars and Kimberly McCreight's The Outliers, Nikki Kill becomes embroiled in another mystery with the gorgeous Detective Martinez when she discovers that the Hollises are trying frame her for the murder of Peyton Hollis--and only her synesthesia can help her unravel the dark truth. Nikki Kill didn't realize that trying to find out who killed Peyton Hollis would tangle her in a web of dangerous family secrets that would rock her identity to the core. But now that Nikki knows the truth, the all-powerful Hollises want to frame her for Peyton's murder. And now Nikki's only chance at escaping the cold black bars of prison or the crimson grip of death is teaming up with the enigmatic Detective Martinez and relying on an ever-shifting kaleidoscope of clues...

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5
4 2
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 207,187,294 books! | Top bar: Always visible