HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark T. Sullivan
Loading...

Beneath a Scarlet Sky (original 2017; edition 2017)

by Mark T. Sullivan

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,0885612,120 (4.16)39
Soon to be a major television event from Pascal Pictures, starring Tom Holland. Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, the USA Today and #1 Amazon Charts bestseller Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man's incredible courage and resilience during one of history's darkest hours. Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He's a normal Italian teenager--obsessed with music, food, and girls--but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior. In an attempt to protect him, Pino's parents force him to enlist as a German soldier--a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler's left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich's most mysterious and powerful commanders. Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share. Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.… (more)
Member:redbird_fan
Title:Beneath a Scarlet Sky
Authors:Mark T. Sullivan
Info:Lake Union Publishing, Kindle Edition, 526 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:*****
Tags:historical-fiction, prime-reading, currently-reading

Work details

Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan (2017)

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 39 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 56 (next | show all)
Extraordinary story - you think you have read enough incredible stories from WWII? I had as well - but this one deserves your attention - fantastic, heartbreaking, gripping, on and on ..... ( )
  redbird_fan | Jan 14, 2020 |
Loved this book.
Great historical novel.
Very well written and keeps you turning pages for sure. ( )
  KarenHerndon | Nov 16, 2019 |
Strong (true) story telling with compelling characters. Quite similar to "Unbroken" and same genre (WWII), but without the combat details ( )
  starkravingmad | Nov 4, 2019 |
Based on a true story, a Milanese teenager is sent to boarding school in the Alps to escape the bombing. Reaching the age to be drafted, his parents convince him to sign up for the German army, rather than be drafted into the Italian. Unbeknownst to them, he serves as a spy for the Allies. ( )
  lilibrarian | Oct 30, 2019 |
Wonderful historical fiction novel; a captivating WW 2 story set in Italy. ( )
  JeffH194 | Sep 23, 2019 |
Showing 1-5 of 56 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For the eight thousand Italian Jews who could not be saved.
For the millions taken slave by the Nazi war machine, and the countless who did not make it home.
And for Robert Dehlendorf, who heard the tale first, and rescued me.
First words
June 9, 1943
Milan, Italy
Like all the pharaohs, emperors, and tyrants before him, Il Duce had seen his empire rise only to crumble.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.16)
0.5
1 1
1.5 2
2 5
2.5 1
3 32
3.5 21
4 96
4.5 32
5 91

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 141,638,165 books! | Top bar: Always visible