HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Strange Practice (A Dr. Greta Helsing Novel)…
Loading...

Strange Practice (A Dr. Greta Helsing Novel) (edition 2017)

by Vivian Shaw (Author)

Series: Dr. Greta Helsing (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
9094523,672 (3.77)36
Fantasy. Fiction. Thriller. HTML:In this delightfully witty fantasy adventure, Dr. Greta Helsing, doctor to the undead, must defend London from both supernatural ailments and a bloodthirsty cult.
Greta Helsing inherited her family's highly specialized and highly peculiar medical practice. In her consulting rooms, Dr. Helsing treats the undead for a host of ills â?? vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights, and entropy in mummies. Although she barely makes ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta's been groomed for since childhood.
Until a sect of murderous monks emerges, killing human and undead Londoners alike. As terror takes hold of the city, Greta must use her unusual skills to stop the cult if she hopes to save her practice, and her life.
Strange Practice is the first novel in Shaw's debut series, the Dr. Greta Helsing Novels â?? perfect for fans of Neverwhere and V. E. S
… (more)
Member:VivioLib
Title:Strange Practice (A Dr. Greta Helsing Novel)
Authors:Vivian Shaw (Author)
Info:Orbit (2017), 400 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

Strange Practice by Vivian Shaw

  1. 50
    Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch (andreas.wpv)
    andreas.wpv: Different type of protagonist and friends, but dealing with the un- or supernatural, solving crimes and preventing disasters. This is very similar though in style and tone, mood of the story. It is tense, yes, but holds no horror or exceeding brutality. The protagonist is human, and like a human, and the story has an undercurrent of kindness that many novels miss. And it is funny at times, from gentle humor to laugh out loud.… (more)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 36 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 44 (next | show all)
Really fun fantasy with a great premise and characters. ( )
  mmcrawford | Dec 5, 2023 |
I liked but did not love this book about a Doctor to the monsters. Given that this book includes vampires, I was expecting and or hoping to like it more. ( )
  Bebe_Ryalls | Oct 20, 2023 |
A solid 3.5 star book, which could easily have been a 4 star book with some tweaks to the writing. And by some tweaks I mean an editor should have sat down and slashed all of the self-conscious and second-guessing asides, and 99% of the qualifiers as well. A little doubt among characters is fine, but the inability of the main characters to make a definite, unqualified sentence was off-putting and distracting. It was too "look at me looking at myself", which inevitably pulled me out of the story and, indeed, made me look at it. Examples:

"She always felt vaguely as if she ought to be draped in lace and ruffles, or possibly diaphanous peignoirs, whatever they were, in order to live up to the surroundings;" (emphasis in original) - why insert the phrase "whatever they were", what does this aside add to the story? My suspicion is that the author believes a protagonist who knows about peignoirs will somehow alienate readers, and that the aside is meant to keep Greta "relatable". Bad writing. Use the word with confidence or just scrap it altogether.

"She would not be the eleventh, if she had any say in the matter" (emphasis in original). This sentence is during a particularly dramatic scene, and comes at the pivotal moment in the action where Greta decides to fight for her life. Why, WHY is this moment diluted by the addition of "if she had any say in the matter"?! If someone has decided to fight off an attacker she is not going to be thinking about how much say she has in the matter, she is going to be thinking of how to survive. I think the author added this aside to show us how plucky our heroine is, but instead it creates a look-at-me-looking-at-myself moment that rings false and takes us right out of the action.

And so on and so forth throughout the book. Again, a good editor would have slashed out all the hedging and left us with a lean story that really zings along, but since that didn't happen we have to ask if the fantastic plot and characters outweigh the weak writing. For me, they did. As I moved through the book I became completely engrossed in the story, hedging asides and all, and I couldn't wait to find out what would happen next. Overall, a good read. ( )
1 vote blueskygreentrees | Jul 30, 2023 |
Nice fun read, didn’t expect to enjoy the characters as much as I did.

I do wish the story had some more plot lines and wasn’t so linear, but all in all still a very fun mystery / drama with a cast of great supernatural characters.

I wish we got more time of Greta with her two female friends/co-workers. The relationships with ALL the male characters are developed while we get practically no scenes of Anna and Dez. ( )
1 vote CasualShino | Jun 2, 2023 |
Really fun read. The premise is awesome and the book follows through. Good pacing, enough mystery and peril to keep it interesting, and an engaging cast of characters. ( )
  bjsikes | Jan 30, 2023 |
Showing 1-5 of 44 (next | show all)
The greatest joys in Strange Practice come from the moments when the entire gang is just sitting together in the kitchen, drinking tea and brandy, talking over each other and trying to figure out the solution to some mystery.
 

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Vivian Shawprimary authorall editionscalculated
Hampton, SuzannahNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Staehle, WillCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed

Distinctions

Notable Lists

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
For Laura Amy Schlitz, who told me not to stop.
First words
Under the darkened city of London, old machinery roared on. Fans the size of small rooms spun into the darkness, pushing air through dead tunnels where no trains moved; rats, used to the dull echo of the machines, preened their whiskers atop switchboxes in dim chambers all but forgotten by the bustling world above.
The sky was fading to ultramarine in the east over the Victoria Embankment when a battered Mini pulled in to the curb, not far from Blackfriars Bridge. Here and there in the maples lining the riverside walk, the morning's first sparrows had begun to sing.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Fantasy. Fiction. Thriller. HTML:In this delightfully witty fantasy adventure, Dr. Greta Helsing, doctor to the undead, must defend London from both supernatural ailments and a bloodthirsty cult.
Greta Helsing inherited her family's highly specialized and highly peculiar medical practice. In her consulting rooms, Dr. Helsing treats the undead for a host of ills â?? vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights, and entropy in mummies. Although she barely makes ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta's been groomed for since childhood.
Until a sect of murderous monks emerges, killing human and undead Londoners alike. As terror takes hold of the city, Greta must use her unusual skills to stop the cult if she hopes to save her practice, and her life.
Strange Practice is the first novel in Shaw's debut series, the Dr. Greta Helsing Novels â?? perfect for fans of Neverwhere and V. E. S

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.77)
0.5
1 5
1.5 1
2 15
2.5 3
3 49
3.5 20
4 104
4.5 11
5 47

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 207,122,511 books! | Top bar: Always visible