HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Happy Holidays! The 12 Days of LT scavenger hunt is going on. Can you solve the clues?
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Ashley: A Sweet Mail-Order Bride Romance…
Loading...

Ashley: A Sweet Mail-Order Bride Romance (Brides of Cinnabar) (Volume 1)

by Kate Connors

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
115,450,815 (4)None
Recently added bytarenn

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Ashley: A Sweet Mail-Order Bride Romance (Brides of Cinnabar Book 1) by Kate Connors is a sweet, heartwarming tale of life, and challenges on the Western frontier. Definitely, promises to be an interesting and intriguing series! Set in Cinnabar, Montana, which is on the outskirts of Yellowstone Park. A debut author, and what a debut!

Mal McElhoes purchases a sheep herd on the spur-of-the-moment, which may not have been such as great an idea, as he first thought. He keeps losing his ranch hands and his herd due to the railway coming through. His companion, is a smart, savvy and loyal, border collie, named, Cindy.
Ashley Sullivan's from Portsmouth, New Hampshire where her prospects are bleak, especially, with her family fallen on hard times. A secret she as held within within her heart....she would like to run her own boarding house one day. What's a girl to do, when she wishes not to be a burden to her family....become a mail order sheep rancher's bride, of course. She is business savvy, smart, can run the buckhouse, and her organizational skills are great. She is also looking for a grand adventure of her own. So when she is offered this mail order bride position she accepts without a second thought.
Trouble and danger is on the horizon for this young, newly married couple...
Ashley and Mal run into a few difficulties along the way, someone is running off their sheep, the construction on the National Pacific Railroad nearby brings new opportunities but also brings problems, as danger lurks, they could lose everything. They have to work together to save their ranch, face danger head on, and learn to accept each other's strengths and weaknesses.

Steady paced, well written tale with many emotions and a unique mail order bride read, I don't think I've read a story where the ranch involves sheep not cattle, which made it even more interesting, to me. The characters were entertaining, strong-willed, determined, likeable and realistic. The cast of characters were a great contrast of troublesome, witty and strong characters, which definitely added to the appeal of "Ashley". There were some laugh-out-moments.
Kate Connors is a debut author, and I thoroughly enjoyed her charactization, her detail to history, her writing style and her ability to draw me into the story and hold me glued to the pages, as I read Mal and Ashley's story. Definitely an author to watch for in the future! A page turner, with grit, substance and clean romance. A heartwarming and uplifting story of life's challenges, struggles, hope, triumphs, trials, and the thrill of finding acceptance, love and sweet romance. An absolute great read! This story leads the reader into the next grand adventure of the "Brides of Cinnabar" series, which I can't wait to read!

Pick up "Ashley", for your next Western Historical Romance read. Strongly recommended for fans of Sweet, Clean romance, Western Historical romance with a few twists, a bit of mystery, suspense, and HEA. Great job, Kate Connors! !
Rating: 4
Heat rating: Sweet/Clean
Reviewed by: AprilR ( )
  tarenn | Feb 24, 2017 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 1
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 130,823,576 books! | Top bar: Always visible