HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Meddling and Murder: An Aunty Lee Mystery by…
Loading...

Meddling and Murder: An Aunty Lee Mystery (edition 2017)

by Ovidia Yu (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
191788,555 (3.83)8
Member:kcaroth1
Title:Meddling and Murder: An Aunty Lee Mystery
Authors:Ovidia Yu (Author)
Info:Killer Reads (2017), 249 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:***
Tags:mystery, singapore

Work details

Meddling and Murder by Ovidia Yu

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 8 mentions

This is the fourth Aunty Lee murder mystery novel and it is darker than the previous ones. The murder actually is not discovered until quite late in the story, although there is plenty of warning that it is likely: the victim is “missing” for most of the early part of the book. The body is discovered much later in the story, almost at the end.

There’s a sense of foreboding from the beginning, the sense that something bad is about to happen. There’s also a group of unsavoury characters, some of which are more unpleasant than bad. Some of these are recurring from earlier books. Aunty’s maid, Nina, is in a quandary about her relationship with Inspector Salim Mawar. To compound that, she is shipped off to work for one of the unsavoury characters where she is essentially terrorized, until Aunty Lee brings her back home.

The unique social structure of Singapore plays a part in the story (as it has in the previous ones), for example “foreign domestic workers” are relegated to a low status with few “rights”. A new theme introduced in this book is the bad consequences coming from the influx of mainland Chinese into Singapore.

This book is more noir than cozy. What started as a Singapore version of Alexander McCall Smith’s #1 Ladies Detective Agency series has morphed into something darker. I enjoyed the earlier books more than this one, but it is a good read on its own.

Also, I see signs that this is the last of the series. The author is releasing a historical fiction story later in the year which is said to be the first of a new series. I am looking forward to reading it. ( )
  BrianEWilliams | Jun 8, 2017 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
To Rasu Ramachandran and in memory of his beloved wife, Premavathy Ramachandran.
First words
Of course the stupid woman had been living in a dream, a fantasy.  (Prologue)
“This is a big emergency!”
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
A delightfully warm and witty mystery from one of Singapore's best-known and most acclaimed writers, perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith's NO. 1 LADIES' DETECTIVE AGENCY. Aunty Lee is on the case! There is nothing Rosie `Aunty' Lee, amateur sleuth and proprietor of Singapore's best-loved restaurant, loves more than solving other people's problems. So when Beth Kwuan, an ambitious businesswoman, tells Aunty Lee her maid has disappeared, Aunty Lee is happy to let her own maid, Nina, help. Only as the weeks go by, little clues make Aunty Lee worry. And as she digs into what is really going on behind the closed doors of Beth's grand house, she starts to wonder-did Beth's maid just run away, or did she meet a darker fate? Now the race is on for Aunty Lee to get to the bottom of the mystery...and save Nina before it's too late!   [retrieved 8/22/17 from Amazon.com]
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

Rosie ?Aunty? Lee, amateur sleuth and proprietor of Singapore?s best-loved home-cooking restaurant, finds herself in the middle of a missing person?s case while trying to help a friend. Rosie ?Aunty? Lee, amateur sleuth and proprietor of Singapore?s best-loved home-cooking restaurant, finds herself in the middle of a missing person?s case after she offers the services of her helper Nina to ambitious businesswoman Beth Kwuan, whose own maid has disappeared. But as the weeks go by, Aunty Lee begins to fear for Nina?s safety - did Beth?s maid just run away, or has she met a darker fate? As Aunty tries to solve the puzzle, she finds herself the unwelcome target of Beth?s business partner, her late sister?s husband, Jonny Ho, who seems all too keen to develop Aunty Lee?s culinary business. But Aunty is not so sure she wants his help?.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.83)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5 2
4 2
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 134,923,643 books! | Top bar: Always visible