HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Queen’s Rising (The Queen’s Rising,…
Loading...

The Queen’s Rising (The Queen’s Rising, Book 1) (edition 2018)

by Rebecca Ross (Author)

Series: Queen's Rising (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5581440,574 (4.05)4
Fantasy. Historical Fiction. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

In this epic debut fantasy, inspired by Renaissance France, an outcast finds herself bound to a disgraced lord and entangled in his plot to overthrow the king. Perfect for fans of Grave Mercy and Red Queen!

Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron. Growing up in Valenia at the renowned Magnalia House should have prepared her. While some are born with a talent for one of the five passions??art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge??Brienna struggled to find hers until she chose knowledge. However, Brienna's greatest fear comes true: she is left without a patron.

Months later, her life takes an unexpected turn when a disgraced lord offers her patronage. Suspicious of his intent, she reluctantly accepts. But there is much more to his story, for there is a dangerous plot to overthrow the king of Maevana??the rival kingdom of Valenia??and restore the rightful queen, and her magic, to the throne.

With war brewing, Brienna must choose which side she will remain loyal to: passion or blood.

Plus don't miss the thrilling sequel, The Queen's Resistance!… (more)

Member:RoseTJKennedy
Title:The Queen’s Rising (The Queen’s Rising, Book 1)
Authors:Rebecca Ross (Author)
Info:HarperCollinsChildren’sBooks (2018), 464 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

The Queen's Rising by Rebecca Ross

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 4 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 14 (next | show all)
Series Info/Source: This is the first book in The Queen's Rising duology. I borrowed a copy of this audiobook from the library.

Thoughts: This was okay. It's a politically driven fantasy with some romance and rebellion. The story ties up very nicely and I didn't really feel driven to pick up the second book in this duology after finishing the first. Prior to reading this book I had read Ross's "Sisters of Sword and Song" which I absolutely loved.

This book follows Brienna, an orphan who is submitted to Maganlia House to become a Passion (an expert) in one of five areas (art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge). Brienna's father is a mystery to her and she struggles to find her Passion. She ends up studying to become a Passion of Knowledge. When she fails to find a patron right away, she is worried that her future is uncertain, then a disgraced lord offers to become her patron. Suddenly Brienna finds herself embroiled in Maevana politics and part of a plot to overthrow the king himself.

I enjoyed the beginning of this book with Brienna and her fellow students learning their studies and talents. However, then things pretty much devolve into a rebellion scenario after that. I am not a huge fan of politically driven fantasy so I was a bit bored and disappointed by where the plot went. Everything in this book goes fairly smoothly and without a lot of conflict, which is odd considering there's a rebellion going on here. Everything just seemed to go a bit too well and everyone was a bit too nice; the situation never seemed truly dire or dangerous.

The characters were okay, but again I found them to be lacking. Brienna is a heroine who is perfect and can do no wrong. She is nice to everyone, good at everything she tries (with maybe the exception of music), and everyone likes her. She does end up in a forbidden romance with her master and teacher; which I always feel is a bit yucky. Granted the two meet whenBrienna is in her mid to late teens but the whole teacher/student romance always feels gross me.

I was surprised out how well things wrapped up. Everything is pretty much settled with our characters and the rebellion. As for the writing style, there is some beautiful description in here and the story was easy to follow. I did think it felt a bit overdone and dry; there was very little humor or wit throughout. I listened to this on audiobook and the narration on the audiobook was well done, so no complaints there.

My Summary (3.5/5): Overall this was okay, there really isn't anything blatantly wrong with this book but I also didn't love it. Everything was a bit "blah" for me. The challenges were resolved too easily, the characters were too perfect, and the story tied up very conveniently. I have absolutely no desire to pick up the next book in this duology. Those who like political fantasy with a slow-burn forbidden romance might enjoy this more than I did. I do plan on checking out other books by Ross since I absolutely loved "Sisters of the Sword" and it looks like she has some other intriguing novels out and upcoming. ( )
  krau0098 | Mar 13, 2023 |
2.5 Stars ( )
  Mrs_Tapsell_Bookzone | Feb 14, 2023 |
It took me a few chapters to get into the story, but once I did I was hooked. It is incredibly easy to get sucked into Brienna’s world. And when the reviews say there’s a delicious slow-burn romance, they aren’t kidding! I can’t wait for the next one. ( )
  HillaryFredrick | Nov 4, 2020 |
I had this on my list for quite a while it seems like and it was a surprise how much I liked and enjoyed it.

My negative take from it was during the ending with some of the relationship scenes etc between the MC, Brianna and one of the fallen Lords.

The romance/relationship was a little too blah for me - not sure how to describe it. It just rubbed me the wrong way, but other than that, I loved it especially all the plot twists and everything. ( )
  Kiaya40 | Oct 9, 2019 |
too wholesome ending for me. the hea at the end spoiled, could have been much better if it was a little darker-throw in some curve balls please ( )
  otkac001 | Jan 20, 2019 |
Showing 1-5 of 14 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Ruth and Mary,

Mistress of Art and Mistress of Knowledge
First words
Magnalia House was the sort of establishment where only wealthy, talented girls mastered their passion.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Fantasy. Historical Fiction. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

In this epic debut fantasy, inspired by Renaissance France, an outcast finds herself bound to a disgraced lord and entangled in his plot to overthrow the king. Perfect for fans of Grave Mercy and Red Queen!

Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron. Growing up in Valenia at the renowned Magnalia House should have prepared her. While some are born with a talent for one of the five passions??art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge??Brienna struggled to find hers until she chose knowledge. However, Brienna's greatest fear comes true: she is left without a patron.

Months later, her life takes an unexpected turn when a disgraced lord offers her patronage. Suspicious of his intent, she reluctantly accepts. But there is much more to his story, for there is a dangerous plot to overthrow the king of Maevana??the rival kingdom of Valenia??and restore the rightful queen, and her magic, to the throne.

With war brewing, Brienna must choose which side she will remain loyal to: passion or blood.

Plus don't miss the thrilling sequel, The Queen's Resistance!

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4.05)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 7
3.5 4
4 23
4.5 3
5 17

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 194,963,892 books! | Top bar: Always visible