HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Other Words for Home

by Jasmine Warga

Other authors: See the other authors section.

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4082946,490 (4.4)4
Newbery Honor Book! A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 4 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 29 (next | show all)
This book follows the story of a Syrian refugee and her mother who come to the united states. It shows the struggles that she has adjusting to the American way of life with her father and brother left at home. She does her best to keep up her pride for her religion and culture. This is difficult in the post-terrorism mindset of many Americans. ( )
  evelynlee | Apr 30, 2021 |
The message behind this book is beautiful, and full of meaning. It truly opens your eyes to the truth and to what you can't physically see, to what is hiding inside of people who suffer from racism, and hatred for just being different. Again, I highly recommend this book. There is something so pure about this story, also harsh because it shows the truth. And the author's note at the end is also amazing. This book has a true and magnificent purpose! ( )
  iamcmims | Apr 4, 2021 |
This is an phenomenal book. It is only the 3rd or 4th novel in verse that I have read. And I definitely want to read more like this as well as look out for more written by this author. The way she brings Jude and all the other characters to life is so incredible. Her word choice and line break decisions do so much to create the intended impact upon readers. Just as Jude goes through a range of emotions, so will readers of this book.

Another great thing about it is that it does feel like it is written to be accessible and relatable to so many ages, but in particular teenagers.

Content Warning: racism, mentions of war but no descriptions of physical violence ( )
  Sara_Cat | Mar 6, 2021 |
jude is a young girl who has to leave her country, her father and brother, her best friend and everything she knows behind. she goes to live with her uncle and does not feel at home ( )
  Karla1992 | Feb 28, 2021 |
An amazing children’s book about the hardships and inspiration of a refugee who comes to start a new life in America. It is a great book for students to read to learn about Muslim culture and immigration. I love how the main character looks at America as her new home but still honors her family and old home. ( )
  emwalker97 | Nov 22, 2020 |
Showing 1-5 of 29 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (2 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Jasmine Wargaprimary authorall editionscalculated
Stempel-Lobell, JennaCover designersecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Syed, AnooshaCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Newbery Honor Book! A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.4)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 7
3.5 6
4 26
4.5 3
5 46

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 157,749,413 books! | Top bar: Always visible