HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

The Best Boomerville Hotel

by Caroline James

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
442,985,868 (4.25)None
A delightful cast of characters take up residence in this fabulously funny read perfect for fans of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.   Jo Docherty and Hattie Contaldo have a vision: a holiday retreat in the heart of England's Lake District exclusively for guests of a "certain age" wishing to stimulate both mind and body with new creative experiences.   With a pitch like that, the newly renovated Best Boomerville Hotel attracts plenty of eccentric clientele. There's fun-loving Sir Henry Mulberry and his brother, Hugo; Lucinda Brown, an impoverished artist with more ego than talent; Andy Mack, a charming Porsche-driving James Bond lookalike, and Kate Simmons, a woman who made her fortune from an internet dating agency but still hasn't found "the one" herself.   With such an array of colorful individuals there's bound to be laughs aplenty. But there'll be plenty of fireworks too, as the residents of Boomerville learn that friendships and romance can tumble out of control when you're this far over the hill.… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 4 of 4
Back in December 2016, I read Caroline James’ novella, Jungle Rock. I said then that I was looking forward to Boomerville (as it was then called) as I was eager to meet some of the characters again.

Fast forward to March 2018 and The Best Boomerville Hotel. It features Jo and Hattie, long time friends, who run Boomerville, a hotel in the Lake District which caters for people of a certain age, Baby Boomers, who are those people born just after the Second World War. Jo has recently changed the hotel from a perfectly ordinary one to one which has all sorts of courses going on, from everyday things like creative writing and pottery, to the slightly more unusual such as clairvoyance and Shamanism.

It’s all great fun really and add to the mix characters such as the Mulberry brothers, Sir Henry and Hugo, all jolly hockey sticks types and quite lecherous in a fairly nice way (if you know what I mean), and it’s all very enjoyable to read about.

There’s a more serious side too, as some of the characters come to Boomerville to try and find happiness after a difficult past, such as Kate Simmons. She meets the rather suave Andy, but is he all he’s cracked up to be? You’ll just have to read it to find out.

If I’m honest, I was expecting more laugh out loud moments. There are plenty of capers and lots of fun though. It’s a light and easy read, and quite a heart-warming one too.

The Best Boomerville Hotel is a great book and I enjoyed it a lot. I think the hotel would be a fantastic place to go and stay at and you couldn’t wish for a better welcome from Jo and Hattie. Hattie, in particular, is a fabulous creation, with her lipsticks and rolling pin stuck in her bosom ready for action (Hugo’s hands do tend to wander a little, hence the rolling pin). I do think the eclectic characters are what make this novel.

Caroline James has a lovely warm writing style. I hope it won’t be the last we see of the Boomerville Hotel. ( )
  nicx27 | Feb 13, 2019 |
The Best Boomerville Hotel by Caroline James is a 2018 Ruby Fiction publication.

BFF’s Jo and Hattie decide to try something a little different, using their experience in the hospitality industry. Why not open a holiday retreat for guest of ‘a certain age’ offering them the chance to expand and exercise their minds and bodies?

Their first guests include Kate, a woman who ran a dating service, but never found her own ‘Mr. Right’, Andy Mack, a handsome James Bond lookalike, Lucinda, a poor, eccentric artist, and brothers, Henry and Hugo.

The staff and guests experience more adventures and drama than they signed up for, but their stay at the Boomerville Hotel just might give them a new lease on life.

“Somewhere in the Universe, there is someone, who will love us, understand us and kiss us and make it better.”

The cover of this book is adorable, and so is this story! As a woman of ‘a certain age’, I love seeing more stories centered around ‘mature’ characters. The guests and staff get involved in a few crazy antics, which are laugh out loud funny. But, there is also a dollop of suspense, and a whole lot of romantic intrigue.

Sometimes I get lucky and choose a book at just the right moment in time. With so much going on right now, the news is scary and so heartbreaking, turning to books is always a comfort. But, I’m wondering the Shaman in this story was working a little magic for me, as this story struck just the right chord, at just the right time. It was exactly the soothing balm my broken heart needed.

This is just a wonderfully warm and funny feel good story, laced with everything you want in a story. The characters are eclectic, a bit eccentric and quirky, each with a special backstory that brings them to life in a big way.

The pacing is brisk without compromising the development of the characters or the plot, but more importantly, it will leave you feeling like no matter what your age, it’s never too late to start over, to find love, or live life to its fullest. By the time I turned that last page, my spirits were lifted, and my mood was much lighter. What more could you ask for? ( )
  gpangel | Dec 14, 2018 |
As you get older it becomes more difficult to make new friends. By the time you are in your forties, often you are in sort of a routine, or rut, and forget to try new activities or put yourself in situations where you might meet new people. As for beginning a new romance.... especially for a woman, may I say PAST her perceived prime?
Kate had been the dutiful daughter. Losing her mother at a young age, she never wanted to cause her father grief. When he began to suffer ailments related to age, she sold her built from scratch business and dedicated her life to keeping him comfortable. Now on her own, an unusual ad catches her eye.
The Boomerville Hotel is designed just "for people of a certain age." That is not to say that describes all who venture there. It is a place to rejuvenate, learn new skills, meet new people, open your mind and heart to new possibilities.
As one becomes more hopeful, does one also become more gullible?

Jo and Hattie are marvelous hostesses. Jo concerned with everyone's well being, Hattie assuring that everyone enjoy their stay. The hotel "regulars" brought to mind humorous classics such as A Fish Called Wanda or Dirty Rotten Scoundrels.
Kate can't believe her fortune when she meets the man of her dreams so soon and he seems to have eyes only for her.

This is a romance for those who never read romance. You will be enjoying it so much you won't mind the warm and cuddly bits. There is deceit, danger, adventure and dreams.
Even a chase scene of sorts.

I enjoyed this romp in the countryside and look forward to reading more by this author. ( )
  LaurasReading | Nov 9, 2018 |
The Best Boomerville Hotel is situated in the Lake District. The resident holidaymakers are of a 'certain age', the 'baby boomer' generation, and they have booked into the hotel to put the spring back in their step.

This is a light-hearted and quirky read with quite a few zany and colourful characters. Some of the humour is a little slapstick for my tastes and sometimes it reminded me of 'Fawlty Towers'. The plot has its bizarre and whacky moments. Nevertheless, it's well written and it does keep you entertained! If there ever was such a place, I wouldn't mind booking in myself if only as a fly on the wall!

A fun and lively read just right for a bit of escapism. ( )
  VanessaCW | Mar 4, 2018 |
Showing 4 of 4
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

A delightful cast of characters take up residence in this fabulously funny read perfect for fans of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.   Jo Docherty and Hattie Contaldo have a vision: a holiday retreat in the heart of England's Lake District exclusively for guests of a "certain age" wishing to stimulate both mind and body with new creative experiences.   With a pitch like that, the newly renovated Best Boomerville Hotel attracts plenty of eccentric clientele. There's fun-loving Sir Henry Mulberry and his brother, Hugo; Lucinda Brown, an impoverished artist with more ego than talent; Andy Mack, a charming Porsche-driving James Bond lookalike, and Kate Simmons, a woman who made her fortune from an internet dating agency but still hasn't found "the one" herself.   With such an array of colorful individuals there's bound to be laughs aplenty. But there'll be plenty of fireworks too, as the residents of Boomerville learn that friendships and romance can tumble out of control when you're this far over the hill.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

None

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4.25)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5 2
4
4.5
5 2

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 170,342,915 books! | Top bar: Always visible