HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Sawkill Girls (2018)

by Claire Legrand

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3972048,972 (3.75)4
"Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power." --Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth "An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength." --Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species FIVE STARRED REVIEWS NAMED ONE OF YALSA'S 2019 BEST FICTION FOR YOUNG ADULTS A BRAM STOKER AWARD NOMINEE A LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD NOMINEE From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things. Who are the Sawkill Girls? Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she's sure she'll never find. Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she's broken--or maybe everyone else is. Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies. Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight...until now.… (more)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 4 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 20 (next | show all)
diverse teen magical realism/suspense/thriller with LGBTQA interest (lesbian/bi characters and an asexual character)
* lots of suspense, plot-driven storyline with very creepy monster - I pretty much finished this book in two sittings.
* characters aren't particularly that dimensional, but I like the diverse representation and they seemed real enough for such a fantastic/magic-filled story that transforms them into badass superheroes.
* this book does contain a sex scene, in case you're concerned. But it also has some gory fantasy violence, so hopefully it falls into the hands of readers mature enough to handle both.
* In response to other reviews, I don't think the characters were hating on all men so much as being targeted/used by this specific psycho-cult and needing to defend themselves. The other non-monster guy characters were OK, just as the other non-central girl characters were just OK (actually they were pretty much all under the monster's influence, so a lot of times they weren't especially nice). And I have been man-splained to enough times to appreciate a joke at the mansplainer's expense. It might not be everyone's cup of tea, but I thought it was a good story.

For another creepy, magical- realism suspense story (without the sex scene), try Bone Gap ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
Weird...but pretty good. ( )
  Lweb | Jul 1, 2021 |
I usually like my fiction realistic - nothing more sci-fi than Jurassic Park, no fantasy or supernatural. While this book was obviously not at all what I expected, there was no denying that it was really good!!! This super talented author might bring me over to the dark side! ( )
  ShannonHollinger | Feb 15, 2021 |
Weird...but pretty good. ( )
  Lweb80 | Nov 23, 2020 |
It was just OK - It started off great very different and weird and spooky but then it got ridiculous and annoying and I just wanted it to end, very upset it started off so promising! ( )
  ashezbookz | Oct 20, 2020 |
Showing 1-5 of 20 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

"Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power." --Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth "An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength." --Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species FIVE STARRED REVIEWS NAMED ONE OF YALSA'S 2019 BEST FICTION FOR YOUNG ADULTS A BRAM STOKER AWARD NOMINEE A LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD NOMINEE From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things. Who are the Sawkill Girls? Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she's sure she'll never find. Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she's broken--or maybe everyone else is. Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies. Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight...until now.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.75)
0.5 1
1 2
1.5 1
2 3
2.5 1
3 11
3.5 4
4 22
4.5 3
5 15

GenreThing

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 160,270,170 books! | Top bar: Always visible