HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Son of Hitler by Anthony Del Col
Loading...

Son of Hitler (edition 2018)

by Anthony Del Col (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
235999,255 (4)None
A story so wild it could only be true‚?¶maybe‚?¶ The never-before- told tale of Adolf Hitler's secret child and how this son was the key to ending World War II is now revealed in this audacious graphic novel based upon one of history's most intriguing rumors. In 1944 Occupied France a rogue British agent reveals to a young baker's assistant the true identity of his father, thus recruiting him for a dangerous mission that will end the greatest threat of World War II. Out of respect to the innocent and the dead all the names in this story have been changed‚?¶ Except for one. This action-packed ride in the vein of Inglourious Basterds and The Boys from Brazil is brought to life by acclaimed writer ANTHONY DEL COL (Assassin's Creed, Kill Shakespeare), New York Times bestselling cartoonist JEFF McCOMSEY (FUBAR, Flutter) and newcomer GEO… (more)
Member:Reece_and_Zoe
Title:Son of Hitler
Authors:Anthony Del Col (Author)
Info:Image Comics (2018), Edition: Illustrated, 192 pages
Collections:Books, Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

Son of Hitler by Anthony Del Col

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 5 of 5
Note: I received an ARC of this book from the publisher at ALA Midwinter 2018.
  fernandie | Sep 15, 2022 |
An intriguing alternate history in which the British secret service discover the existence of a young man believed to be Adolf Hitler’s offspring. A plan is devised to find him and recruit him to be a Trojan-horse with one goal, kill his father.

Of course things are not always what they seem and there are many turns along the path. It’s a well woven tale of obsession, revenge, deception, horror, and family.

The muted color palette and monochromatic painted art gives it a personal, almost claustrophobic feel while still placing the story in the context of the wider events happening around it.

This is one of those graphic novels whose imagery and impact stays with you long after closing the cover. ( )
  gothamajp | Sep 23, 2021 |
Ever wonder what it would be like if Hitler had a secret son who didn't know about him? Well this book completely satisfies that interest. Pierre is a young man who has had a rough childhood due to his single mother and bullies at school. He's always had a short temper, and has worked hard to control it. That is, until he's actually allowed to act on it. This is a book of revenge.

Check out my full review here!

https://radioactivebookreviews.wordpress.com/2018/12/03/son-of-hitler-by-anthony... ( )
  radioactivebookworm | Dec 3, 2018 |
Son of Hitler is a very good spy story and a wonderfully drawn graphic novel. It is a World War II story with contemporary ramifications, which I truly enjoyed.

I was caught up fairly quickly in the espionage thanks in large part to compelling characters. They were as believable as one can expect from an espionage story that is partly alternate history.

The artwork was ideal for the story, subdued without being simply black line drawings, with subtle changes to accompany a mood or some action.

The thing that gave it the final boost to the rating it got was the idea, quite pleasant, that a particular bloodline might have been exterminated. Yes, Hitler's, but particularly the chosen name that has ruined this country because this is alternative history. Some things that never happened just really needed to have happened, but didn't, and now we're screwed as a country because of an evil family.

Reviewed from a copy made available by the publisher via Edelweiss. ( )
  pomo58 | Jun 27, 2018 |
In reality, 3.5 stars because the plot got a little eye-roll-y for my tastes at the end. ( )
  BillieBook | Apr 1, 2018 |
Showing 5 of 5
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

A story so wild it could only be true‚?¶maybe‚?¶ The never-before- told tale of Adolf Hitler's secret child and how this son was the key to ending World War II is now revealed in this audacious graphic novel based upon one of history's most intriguing rumors. In 1944 Occupied France a rogue British agent reveals to a young baker's assistant the true identity of his father, thus recruiting him for a dangerous mission that will end the greatest threat of World War II. Out of respect to the innocent and the dead all the names in this story have been changed‚?¶ Except for one. This action-packed ride in the vein of Inglourious Basterds and The Boys from Brazil is brought to life by acclaimed writer ANTHONY DEL COL (Assassin's Creed, Kill Shakespeare), New York Times bestselling cartoonist JEFF McCOMSEY (FUBAR, Flutter) and newcomer GEO

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5
4 5
4.5
5 2

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 208,691,488 books! | Top bar: Always visible