HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Perfect Dead

by Jackie Baldwin

Series: DI Frank Farrell (2)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1111,547,948 (4)None
Sometimes perfection is worth killing for... The second gripping crime novel in an exciting new series. Ex-priest DI Frank Farrell finds himself on the trail of a vicious killer in rural Scotland. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, James Oswald and Val McDermid. Each murder brings him one step closer to the perfect death. Ex-priest DI Farrell is called on to investigate a gruesome death in rural Scotland. All evidence points to suicide, except for one loose end: every light in the cottage was switched off. Why would he kill himself in the dark? The question sparks a murder investigation that leads to the mysterious Ivy House, home of 'The Collective', a sinister commune of artists who will do anything to keep their twisted secrets hidden. And when the remains of a young girl are uncovered on a barren stretch of coastline, Farrell realises that there is something rotten in this tight-knit community. Now he must track down a ruthless killer before another person dies, this time much closer to home...… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

DI Frank Farrell is an ex-priest. He is pretty much a hermit but works quite hard at his job, especially in this new case, that of trying to stop a vicious killer in a town in Scotland. Is there a such thing as a perfect death? Obviously, the killer has that very intent in mind. Well, the first murder in this case is that of an apparent suicide. However, there is a powerful clue that shows otherwise. Farrell and his team are led to the mysterious Ivy House, a commune of artists holding onto warped secrets. Another murder takes case, thus ramping up their investigation.

This is my first book by Jackie Baldwin, but this is the second in the DI Frank Farrell series. This was an engaging read. Even though Farrell is damaged, he definitely grew on me. So did members of his team. I found myself invested in their stories. Although I haven't read the first book in this terrific series, I felt that I understood Farrell, his angst and what drives him. I am a romantic at heart, and kept hoping for him to find a love interest. Maybe as the series progresses? Since I will definitely be reading Book 3 in this series, at some point before then I will most certainly take time to read the first book. Ms. Baldwin is relatively new on the scene, but she has excellent talent that I look forward to reading in the future.

Many thanks to Harper Impulse and Killer Reads and to NetGalley for this ARC to review.

Date of publication: June 15, 2018 ( )
  RobinLovesReading | Oct 25, 2019 |
no reviews | add a review

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Sometimes perfection is worth killing for... The second gripping crime novel in an exciting new series. Ex-priest DI Frank Farrell finds himself on the trail of a vicious killer in rural Scotland. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, James Oswald and Val McDermid. Each murder brings him one step closer to the perfect death. Ex-priest DI Farrell is called on to investigate a gruesome death in rural Scotland. All evidence points to suicide, except for one loose end: every light in the cottage was switched off. Why would he kill himself in the dark? The question sparks a murder investigation that leads to the mysterious Ivy House, home of 'The Collective', a sinister commune of artists who will do anything to keep their twisted secrets hidden. And when the remains of a young girl are uncovered on a barren stretch of coastline, Farrell realises that there is something rotten in this tight-knit community. Now he must track down a ruthless killer before another person dies, this time much closer to home...

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 3
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 180,171,435 books! | Top bar: Always visible