HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

New Kid (2019)

by Jerry Craft

Series: New Kid (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
9278717,753 (4.31)55
Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?… (more)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 55 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 87 (next | show all)
The winner of numerous book awards, Jerry Craft has written the middle grade graphic novel, New Kid, in 2019 that is very relatable and fun to read. You immediately are drawn into the book by the 12-year-old black boy, Jordan Banks, as he chronicles his encounters in the daily commute from a minority part of town to the private school his parents want him to attend. Torn between two worlds and not fitting into either, he learns to navigate between the two and find himself. ( )
  Pgt003 | Nov 21, 2021 |
This book is about an African American 12 year old boy named Jordan, who moves to a new school. Jordan faces many struggles including racism and fitting in. This book addresses the struggles of people of color and would be a great read for students to experience. Having this novel in my classroom is important to me because having a new student is not rare. This book is good for representation throughout. ( )
  Roxana_Guerra | Nov 20, 2021 |
Jordan is a new kid in a new school. Coming from the poorest part of town, he attends one of the richest private schools for a better education. The school does not have much diversity, and Jordan struggles with friends, culture, and trying to fit in. This book is amazing and I recommend it to everyone! Jordan is a real kid with real struggles that occur in middle school. I would use this book as a reference for students as an easy read, but something they can relate to. It would not be a good read aloud as it is a longer book, but middle school students would relate to this easily. ( )
  Teagan.Mies | Nov 17, 2021 |
Starts off very slow with more set-up than necessary but an engaging and enjoyable tale with a charming ending. The artwork looks rushed and amateurish in some parts, with inconsistent line thicknesses and poorly done backgrounds. Really needed another round of edits, imo. ( )
  fionaanne | Nov 11, 2021 |
This book talks about many mature topics. This book talks about things that many students have to face every day in school, such as fitting in, racism, and being the new kid. This book is about a 12-year-old African American boy who just started school at a private school where there are very few people of color. This would be a great book to have in your classroom library. You could also assign this book for students to do a book report on. ( )
  madisonfayewest | Nov 5, 2021 |
Showing 1-5 of 87 (next | show all)
Don’t let the title fool you. Seventh-grader Jordan Banks may be the new kid at his upper-crust private school, but this remarkably honest and accessible story is not just about being new; it’s unabashedly about race. Example after uncomfortable example hits the mark: casual assumptions about black students’ families and financial status, black students being mistaken for one another, well-intentioned teachers awkwardly stumbling over language, competition over skin tones among the black students themselves. Yet it’s clear that everyone has a burden to bear, from the weird girl to the blond boy who lives in a mansion, and, indeed, Jordan only learns to navigate his new world by not falling back on his own assumptions. Craft’s easy-going art and ingenious use of visual metaphor loosen things up considerably, and excerpts from Jordan’s sketch book provide several funny, poignant, and insightful asides. It helps keep things light and approachable even as Jordan’s parents tussle over the question of what’s best for their son—to follow the world’s harsh rules so he can fit in or try to pave his own difficult road. A few climactic moments of resolution feel a touch too pat, but Craft’s voice rings urgent and empathetic. Speaking up about the unrepresented experience of so many students makes this a necessary book, particularly for this age group. Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year.
 

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
To the Jordan Banks in all of us
First words
This is how I feel every single day of my life, like I'm falling without a parachute.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4.31)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 4
2.5
3 22
3.5 9
4 71
4.5 11
5 99

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 164,524,602 books! | Top bar: Always visible