HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Ordinary girls by Blair Thornburgh
Loading...

Ordinary girls (edition 2019)

by Blair Thornburgh

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
574362,575 (3.5)2
*A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2019* *A Booklist Editors' Choice for Books for Youth 2019* Perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski and Jenny Han, this heartfelt and humorous contemporary take on Sense and Sensibility follows two sisters--complete opposites--who discover the secrets they've been keeping make them more alike than they'd realized.   For siblings as different as Plum and Ginny, getting on each other's nerves is par for the course. But when the family's finances hit a snag, sending chaos through the house in a way only characters from a Jane Austen novel could understand, a distance grows between them like never before. Plum, a self-described social outcast, finally has something in her life that doesn't revolve around her dramatic older sister. But what if coming into her own means Plum isn't there for Ginny when she, struggling with a hard secret of her own, needs her most?… (more)
Member:Mrs.Nicaj
Title:Ordinary girls
Authors:Blair Thornburgh
Info:New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2019]
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Ordinary Girls by Blair Thornburgh

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 2 mentions

Showing 4 of 4
A light & fun read. I really liked the romance, but the main plot was kind of strange at times - overall it felt pretty disjointed, but still enjoyable. ( )
  j_tuffi | May 30, 2020 |
Fifteen year old Patience, aka Plum, is growing up in the shadow of her 17 year old beautiful, smart sister, Ginny. Ginny is a member of what Plum called the High Strung Smart Girls. That is until Tate, one of the Loudmouthed Smart Boys (LSB) takes an interest in her. Someone Plum used to avoid at all costs, has exhibited some good character traits. While Plum is enjoying her new found popularity, she is missing the fact that Ginny is going through some of her own issues.

Ordinary girls is an enjoyable, humorous travelogue of her and Ginny's journey through one year or high school. ( )
  EdGoldberg | Aug 5, 2019 |
An adorable, quirky young adult book perfect for every angsty teen (or adult) that read Jane Austen, Little Women, and Jane Eyre on the reg. Two sisters could not be more different; Ginny, the older, smarter, more frazzled sister is forever getting on Patience's (aka Plum) nerves. Patience has forever lived in the shadow of her older sister's intelligence and there are times when she can't wait for her sister to go off to college in a year (if the family can afford it). They live in a gorgeous, old, crumbling down Victorian home, that Patience wishes she could never leave (stupid school). It's her, Ginny, her exuberant and artistic mother, a feisty cat, two rowdy dogs, and their "almost doctor of music" renter who lives above the carriage house. Little does Patience realize how much her fifteenth year is about to change; from boys, to finance woes, to English reading assignments; this will be a year that Plum will never forget. Funny and unusual in the most awesome of ways. ( )
  ecataldi | Jul 1, 2019 |
It’s a tumultuous year for sisters Ginny and Plum, as Ginny agonizes over college applications, their family struggles financially, and Plum forms a secret friendship (or maybe more?) with one of the most unlikely boys she can imagine.

I had heard that this was inspired by Sense and Sensibility, and while there is a practical sister and a high-strung one, a dead father and problems with money, don’t go into this expecting a retelling. That’s not to say it isn’t charming! I thought the relationship between the sisters was particularly well done, and the story revels in classic literature references (Austen, the Brontës, Little Women, Anne of Green Gables, Rilke, Rossetti, Dickinson...) and a handful of film and classical music grace notes. (They also watch a lot of HGTV, which cracked me up a little every time.) If this sort of family drama is your thing, you’ll love this book. ( )
  foggidawn | Jun 15, 2019 |
Showing 4 of 4
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

*A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2019* *A Booklist Editors' Choice for Books for Youth 2019* Perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski and Jenny Han, this heartfelt and humorous contemporary take on Sense and Sensibility follows two sisters--complete opposites--who discover the secrets they've been keeping make them more alike than they'd realized.   For siblings as different as Plum and Ginny, getting on each other's nerves is par for the course. But when the family's finances hit a snag, sending chaos through the house in a way only characters from a Jane Austen novel could understand, a distance grows between them like never before. Plum, a self-described social outcast, finally has something in her life that doesn't revolve around her dramatic older sister. But what if coming into her own means Plum isn't there for Ginny when she, struggling with a hard secret of her own, needs her most?

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5
4 3
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 160,461,267 books! | Top bar: Always visible