HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Beekeeper of Aleppo: A Novel by Christy…
Loading...

The Beekeeper of Aleppo: A Novel (original 2019; edition 2020)

by Christy Lefteri (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
6583227,303 (4.16)21
"Nuri is a beekeeper; his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo--until the unthinkable happens. When all they care for is destroyed by war, they are forced to escape. But what Afra has seen is so terrible she has gone blind, and so they must embark on a perilous journey through Turkey and Greece towards an uncertain future in Britain. As Nuri and Afra travel through a broken world, they must confront not only the pain of their own unspeakable loss, but dangers that would overwhelm the bravest of souls. Above all, they must journey to find each other again. Moving, powerful, and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo brings home the idea that the most ordinary of lives can be completely upended in unimaginable ways"--… (more)
Member:sjfellows
Title:The Beekeeper of Aleppo: A Novel
Authors:Christy Lefteri (Author)
Info:Ballantine Books (2020), Edition: Reprint, 384 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

The Beekeeper of Aleppo by Christy Lefteri (2019)

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 21 mentions

English (28)  Dutch (3)  German (1)  All languages (32)
Showing 1-5 of 28 (next | show all)
Aleppo was a beautiful city in Syria before the bombs started to fall and it became a horrific war zone. This wonderfully written novel tells the story of Nuri Ibrahim and his wife, Afra Ibrahim, who were prospering with Nuri and his cousin's beehives in the countryside. But, they stay too long and suffer terrible consequences, including Afra's loss of her eyesight. We follow their path through Turkey and Greece as they seek to join cousin Mustafa in England. Their journey is harrowing, physically and mentally, as they are forced to do things to survive and move on. Author Christy Lefteri's time as a NGO volunteer working with refugees has given her insights and her endnote should not be skipped. I also liked her mid-chapter pivot around a word or phrase where she ends one section and starts another as I've never seen an author use such a technique. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
A thoroughly thought provoking story, more so because it is based on true experiences as told to the author.

This is the story of Nuri and Afra, a loving couple who tragically lost their young son Sami. Afra is blind and reluctant to leave Aleppo as they will be leaving Sami behind. She is in a world of physical darkness but has immense courage and resilience. Nuri is in a different sort of darkness that disconnects him from Afra and what he sees and experiences. He is a sensitive person who had lived a gentle and quiet life looking after bees with his cousin Mustafa. He finds the grief, suffering and uncertainty overwhelming.

I was grateful that it was not more graphic, I found some parts, especially when they were still in Aleppo, quite difficult and upsetting to read. So many ordinary people who find themselves in extraordinary, horrible circumstances, struggling to find safety and some place where they can try to pick up their lives, no longer knowing what the future holds for them. It is life-changing.

Although the subject matter is very disturbing this is a wonderful book. ( )
1 vote Matacabras | May 18, 2021 |
All members of our book club loved The Beekeeper of Aleppo. They found it very enlightening, particularly regarding the mental and immigration difficulties. Some incidents that happened to Afra and Nuri were horrifying and members felt almost guilty for enjoying the book despite the gravity of the subject matter. All members loved the writing style, though some members found the single word connections between different scenes a little bit jarring. The characterisations and relationships in the book were well developed. All in all, members gave this book an 8/10. ( )
  Tofey | Mar 29, 2021 |
In the tradition of The Kite Runner, The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a story of suffering and the remarkable ability of the human spirit to survive against a background of war, slaughter and heartache.
Nuri, his wife Afra, and their son Sami are residents in war torn Aleppo. By profession he is a beekeeper and carries out this dedicated vocation with his friend Mustafa. Running through this insightful story is a fond adoration of the daily life of the humble bee, the delicious honey they produce, and their importance in the ecological system. Life is irrevocably changed when a bomb explodes, killing Sami and blinding Afro. As the desperate situation in Syria/Aleppo disintegrates Nuri takes the decision together with his wife to make the perilous journey across Europe and obtain residency in the UK as an asylum seeker, and by so doing join his friend Mustafa who has already established a business in Yorkshire. What follow is not only the hardships of such and endeavour but a story of 2 people deeply traumatised attempting to save a relationship fractured by events in an escalating war...

….”But as the years passed, the dessert was slowly growing, the climate becoming harsh, rivers drying up, farmers struggling, only the bees were drought-resistant. Look at those little warriors Afra would say on the days when she came with Sami to visit the apiaries, a tiny bundle wrapped up in her arms. Look at them still working when everything else is dying”...”Nice to meet you he said...I wish you a day of morning light”....” How many tissues will people need to buy? Maybe this is a city of crying”....”Can you see the bees Nuri? Try to see them in your mind. Hundreds and thousands of them in the sunlight, on the flowers, the hives and the honeycomb. Can you see it?”.....”I am standing away from them by the glass doors, watching them, and I think about the little boy who never existed and how he had filled the black void that Sami had left. Sometimes we create such powerful illusions, so that we do not get lost in the darkness”.....

Provocative, thought provoking prose, make this a story long remembered. Highly recommended. ( )
  runner56 | Jan 9, 2021 |
Extremely well-written, a very well-told fictional story about a Syrian couple who escape their country and seek asylum in the UK. Alternating the waiting period in London with the long and traumatic story, their characters gradually shine through.

Horrific in places, yet without any gratuitous description; thought-provoking and powerful. Peppered with memories and descriptions of bees, their care and cycles, as the narrator of the book was a beekeeper in Aleppo before everything fell apart.

Not an easy read, emotionally, but well worth it. Based on the author's own experiences working in refugee centres and hearing people's stories first-hand.

Very highly recommended.

Longer review here: https://suesbookreviews.blogspot.com/2020/10/the-beekeeper-of-aleppo-by-christy.... ( )
  SueinCyprus | Nov 1, 2020 |
Showing 1-5 of 28 (next | show all)
Lefteri’s slow-building narrative rarely veers into sentimentality or overwhelming bleakness.
 
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Dad
Also, for S
First words
I am scared of my wife's eyes.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

"Nuri is a beekeeper; his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo--until the unthinkable happens. When all they care for is destroyed by war, they are forced to escape. But what Afra has seen is so terrible she has gone blind, and so they must embark on a perilous journey through Turkey and Greece towards an uncertain future in Britain. As Nuri and Afra travel through a broken world, they must confront not only the pain of their own unspeakable loss, but dangers that would overwhelm the bravest of souls. Above all, they must journey to find each other again. Moving, powerful, and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo brings home the idea that the most ordinary of lives can be completely upended in unimaginable ways"--

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4.16)
0.5
1
1.5
2 4
2.5 3
3 12
3.5 11
4 58
4.5 7
5 49

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 164,415,558 books! | Top bar: Always visible