HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Other Mrs. Miller by Allison Dickson
Loading...

The Other Mrs. Miller (original 2019; edition 2020)

by Allison Dickson (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
12013178,131 (3.73)5
Two women are watching each other. Phoebe Miller isn't sure when the rusty car started showing up in the cul-de-sac she calls home, or why its driver would be spying on her. What could be interesting about an unhappy housewife who drowns her sorrows in ice cream and wine and barely leaves her house? Only one knows why. When a new family moves in across the street--the exuberant Vicki, who just might become the gossipy best friend Phoebe's always wanted, and her handsome college-bound son, Jake, who offers companionship of a different variety--Phoebe finds her dull routine infused with the excitement she's been missing. But with her head turned she's no longer focused on the woman in the car. And she really should be... An addictive domestic thriller for fans of The Last Mrs. Parrish and The Couple Next Door, The Other Mrs. Miller serves up a delicious brew of dark secrets and stunning plot twists that will keep you captivated until the very last page.… (more)
Member:sheila150650
Title:The Other Mrs. Miller
Authors:Allison Dickson (Author)
Info:G.P. Putnam's Sons (2020), 352 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

The Other Mrs Miller by Allison Dickson (2019)

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 5 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 13 (next | show all)
Phoebe Miller doesn’t like socialising and spends most of her time alone. She notices the recurrent appearance of a car outside her house and believes she is being spied on. Then, a new family move in to the house opposite. Do they have an ulterior motive for taking up residence near Phoebe?

This story starts off well, it’s quite intriguing. Then it gets a little too far fetched, very implausible in fact. None of the characters are particularly likeable, either. However, it is entertaining, fast paced and easy to read. I was eager to find out who the villain of the piece was. I had my suspicions and after going round and round in circles, I was proved correct in the end. An enjoyable and fun psychological thriller, if a tad incredulous. 3.5⭐️ ( )
  VanessaCW | Dec 22, 2020 |
The Other Mrs. Miller by Allison Dickson

July 16, 2019
Fiction, mystery, suspense
ISBN: 9780525539247
G.P. Putnam’s Sons

Rating: 9/10

I received a digital copy of this book from Edelweiss in exchange for an unbiased review.

The death of wealthy Daniel Noble to pancreatic cancer exposes his controversial and philandering life style. The controlling and domineering business man seemed to leave a wake of disgruntled women including his daughter Phoebe. She is married to Wyatt Miller, a therapist, living in an affluent neighborhood.

Since I am not a person who likes to write reviews with spoilers, this will be challenging. While Phoebe tries to self medicate her grief after her father’s death when his notorious lifestyle makes headlines. Her once happy marriage seems to be falling apart which is of little concern to her as she falls deeper into her dark depression. Wyatt fears for her sanity as she insists that someone is spying on her.

Phoebe’s obsession with the dark car parked on her street almost daily is side tracked when a family moves in across the street. She becomes fascinated with Vicki and Ron Napier and their athletic teenage son, Jake who don’t seem to fit into the neighborhood. Ron Napier is a physician who relocated abruptly following a mysterious departure from his last job. Her new neighbor Vicki starts to ingratiate herself into Phoebe’s life and soon provides intriguing excitement to her once dreary existence.

While Phoebe is trying to figure out what secrets the Napiers are hiding, she starts to receive mysterious threatening messages on her doorstep. Her reality starts to unravel the more she learns about her neighbors and why they still have not furnished their rented home. Meanwhile, her paranoia regarding the mysterious car and threatening messages escalates.

Is Phoebe losing her mind as everyone seems to claim? Are her fears and suspicions real or just her imagination? How well do you really know people? Is there a logical reason for this car to be parked on her street? This story takes you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions and suspense.
( )
  marquis784 | Sep 28, 2020 |
This is a really good read. I really enjoyed the characters and the plot twists and turns. 5 stars! ( )
  johnfishlock | Mar 30, 2020 |
Phoebe Miller is a woman who appears to have everything. Everything material that is, but her home life is a shambles. Following the death of her father, a public figure and business tycoon of considerable wealth, it becomes apparent that his personal behaviour was less than exemplary, with many complaints of sexual harassment hitting the press. On the domestic front, Phoebe and her husband are coming to terms (or not) with their irreconcilable differences relating to starting a family. Aside from monitoring the strange courier who seems to spend a lot of time parked in her street, Phoebe has withdrawn from the world, and taken to drinking in isolation to get through the days. That is until the Napier family and their very striking teenage son move into the house across the street.

“The Other Mrs Miller” is packed with deeply flawed characters, all battling their personal demons. The female characters, especially the Mrs Millers, are relatable on some levels, and the believability of their thoughts and actions carry the book through to its conclusion. They are difficult to like, but perhaps this is because they are a little too like us.

I have mixed feelings about this book. The author has a beautiful style and there are some wonderful, emotive and thought-provoking sentences throughout the book. The chapters switch between the points of view of Mrs Miller, and unknown narrators, creating an intriguing mystery that keeps you reading.

I enjoyed the story, however, I felt that the second half lacked the consistency of pacing and credibility of the first. The story is a little far-fetched. Having said that, “The Other Mrs Miller” by Allison Dickson is a fun and thrill packed ride, which will be enjoyed by people who like books/shows like “Big Little Lies”.

I received a free copy of this book through Sisters in Crime - Australia, in exchange for a fair and honest review. ( )
  SarahEBear | Mar 23, 2020 |
4.5 stars.

The Other Mrs. Miller by Allison Dickson is a diabolically clever twist-filled mystery.

Phoebe Miller is wealthy and dissatisfied with her life. She rarely leaves home and she fills her days by sleeping late, drinking copious amounts of wine, and indulging her craving for ice cream. Her marriage to Wyatt has been in a downward spiral for quite some time. Rejecting his latest suggestion with brutal (and uncensored) honesty, Phoebe is certain a divorce is in her future. When new neighbors move in across the street, she enjoys brunches and shopping expeditions with her new friend, Vicki Napier. But it is Vicki's son Jake who really adds excitement to Phoebe's life since they are soon embroiled in a red-hot, passion-filled affair. Meanwhile, all of these activities are taking place under the watchful eye of a mysterious person who is spying on Phoebe.

Phoebe is still reeling from the negative publicity surrounding her wealthy father's recent death. The two were never close so she is not exactly mourning him. She is stuck in a rut of her own making but she cannot seem to muster the energy to do drag herself out of her misery. Phoebe is not sure she wants to make an effort to be friends with Vicki, but her new neighbor gives her little choice. She also knows that sleeping with Jake is wrong but she just cannot resist the sexy young man. How will Phoebe resolve the quandary she finds herself in when the person watching her finally makes a move?

The Other Mrs. Miller is a fiendishly addictive mystery with a cast of disagreeable characters that are surprisingly sympathetic. Chapters from an unknown person's perspective are quite intriguing and add suspense to the unfolding drama. About midway through the novel, an astonishing plot twist takes this brilliant story in a very unexpected direction. It is surprisingly easy for readers to suspend their disbelief as Allison Dickson brings this mesmerizing mystery to a wonderfully satisfying conclusion. I greatly enjoyed and highly recommend this innovative novel to fans of the genre. ( )
  kbranfield | Feb 3, 2020 |
Showing 1-5 of 13 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Two women are watching each other. Phoebe Miller isn't sure when the rusty car started showing up in the cul-de-sac she calls home, or why its driver would be spying on her. What could be interesting about an unhappy housewife who drowns her sorrows in ice cream and wine and barely leaves her house? Only one knows why. When a new family moves in across the street--the exuberant Vicki, who just might become the gossipy best friend Phoebe's always wanted, and her handsome college-bound son, Jake, who offers companionship of a different variety--Phoebe finds her dull routine infused with the excitement she's been missing. But with her head turned she's no longer focused on the woman in the car. And she really should be... An addictive domestic thriller for fans of The Last Mrs. Parrish and The Couple Next Door, The Other Mrs. Miller serves up a delicious brew of dark secrets and stunning plot twists that will keep you captivated until the very last page.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.73)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 5
3.5 2
4 17
4.5 2
5 5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 160,243,953 books! | Top bar: Always visible